The New Year


I did not achieve any of last year’s resolutions. I believe I intended to drink better wine and be able to do crow’s pose.

On the one hand, I did drink better wine, that was a resolution that’s primary intent was to get me drinking less wine, and I’m pretty sure that I drank both more and better wine.

Regarding crow’s pose, I actually think I injured my left wrist spending so much time trying to do crow’s pose, so I’ve spent the past three months or so not even able to do push-ups on my wrist… I’ve been having to do weird things in yoga to still get a work out… for instance, downward-facing dog on a fist.

A third, but less official resolution was to read 52 books for the Goodreads Challenge. I did not succeed on that one. I read something like 42 books, and a significant number of those were graphic novels, which don’t fully count in my mind.

I’m not particularly sad about any of those failures. During the year, I ran a marathon, quit teaching, and gave up ham and beef in my diet (although I did have some ham on Christmas… Lori purchased one that probably couldn’t have been better treated, however, so it’s okay).

So… for 2016, I’ve been trying to think of some good resolutions again, but I’m finding that I don’t really care all that much. Regardless, here are my top goals for the year in no particular order:

  • Goodreads Challenge: 46 books. 52 is a nice, round number, but it’s also a bit too much, I think. It takes some of the fun out of reading.
  • Community: This one is difficult, because I’ve really reinvented my community in the past year or two. I think I’d like to continue growing closer to folks in my church (specifically, my Bible Study), hanging out with Steve and Lori, playing D&D, getting to know my co-workers, and trying to find a third roommate.
  • $: I’d like to be completely credit card free. I’ll keep a card for emergencies, for sure, but I’d like to pay off all of the debt I accumulated while unemployed and cancel at least one of my cards. I’d also like to save up to buy a car.
  • Physical Goals: Make it a habit to run before work one day a week.
  • Writing: Be done with current manuscript… self-publish it, sell it to a publisher, etc… start a new project for NanoWriMo 2016.

What New Year’s Resolutions do all of you have?

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

