When I Don’t Have a Roommate


Roommate Kendra has a job in Phoenix. When that occurred, I really thought she’d be moving out within months. I even initiated a conversation with her about lowering her rent, but she said she didn’t want to do that…

Well, okay – if you want to keep paying half of my mortgage without actually living with me, I guess that’s you’re choice.

The plan was for Kendra to come home every weekend, which she did for like one month. Now, she hasn’t been home since October.

Being that I haven’t lived alone for 6 ish years, I’m currently really amused at the changes in my behavior without Roommate Kendra around.

  1. I do the dishes once a week. I pile the sink to overflowing, so that the kitchen isn’t even functional, and then I do the dishes.
  2. I shower a lot less. I know it’s ridiculous, but I don’t think I’d shower much at all if it weren’t for my need to seem clean and presentable to others.
  3. I play a ton of video games.
  4. I listen to a lot of sermons playing on my cell phone.
  5. I go up and down the stairs to get exercise/sit at the top of the stairs/try to be a ninja /whatever…

At some point here, I think Kendra will tire of paying rent at a place where she doesn’t live. And I may need a replacement roommate. However, I’m feeling like I’m getting too old for this. It’s such a hassle getting used to another person and her habits…

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

