Life Update December 2015


Dear Readers,

I don’t know – I just haven’t felt like writing. And I haven’t been pressuring myself about it. That’s why I’ve hardly been posting.

Soooo… what have I been doing? I’ve been settled in. One of the most difficult things about running a marathon is how difficult it is to settle in and stay settled in for 5 or 6 hours. With any distance I run, I usually have a somewhat silly and euphoric first mile. I often run really fast in the first mile, and I don’t feel any sense of the distance I’m running. Then, mile 2 almost always sucks, and I just have to push through it. Then, I settle in during mile three, and the  being settled in lasts a different amount of time each run. Then I do it all again, reverting to the mile 2 sucky-suck.

I know that running/life metaphor is overused, but it’s so accurate.

I’ve managed to settle in, and I don’t dare to upset that balance by trying to force myself into writing.

The settled in, however, does include some cool things. I’m eating really well during the work week. I’m having a smoothie for breakfast, a salad for lunch, and an omelet for dinner, so maybe I’ll get thin. Also, I’m running before work on Wednesdays. That one’s the most difficult thing I’m doing right now, but I feel super good about it after I’m back home and getting ready for work.

Also, my dad is in town and purchased me a few video games for my bday. So I’m playing a lot of baseball. 🙂 The sad thing is that I was playing a 2005 game until he purchased me the new (er) one I’m playing now. It’s 2011… so I’m still way behind the times, but I’m enjoying it.

I’m listening to sermons while I blend my smoothie, then drink it. It’s a good way to start the day.

I’m using my lunch hour to read Bonhoeffer. It’s a good way to break up the day.

I’m walking Moose like 4 days a week, which isn’t as much as I’d like to be walking him, but it’s all I’ve got.

I’m manning the coffee bar at church on Sundays.

I’m re-reading The Hunger Games series, which is delightful. I know it’s not exactly English Teacher worthy, but I cry so much through that series, and it reads so quickly and easily… totally excellent.

Finally, I went to the movies last week and saw Spotlight – definitely worth seeing in the theater. Do it. Go see it. Then, go home and watch Doubt. Both are excellent, really different from each other in tone and composition, and they cover an under-represented story (at least in the realm of contemporary fiction). They make me feel like I should go out and buy some books so that I can read about how things actually went down. 🙂

I hope everyone has a great week.

 

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

