My Recent Headlines


How to Cut Back on Alcohol Intake: Get a Job You Actually Like

It’s pleasantly surprising how much the rest of my life has fallen into place now that I have a job where I’m treated well. ๐Ÿ™‚

Lost Book – Call if You Find It (And Also to Return the DVDs You Borrowed)

I’m not entirely sure why I care. I’ve been reading The Cost of Discipleship for like three years, but I swear, I was finally making legit progress in it. I’d gone back and restarted the whole thing, and I was enjoying it, and I intended to finish it, but now, I can’t find it. The last place I remember having it was at home, but it’s nowhere to be found. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Additionally, I loaned one of my favorite movies to someone who is cold-shouldering me now, and I want it back. However, I don’t want to be that a-hole who breaks the cold-shoulder via text that says, “Hey – since we’re not really friends right now, would you mind returning Raisin Helen? After all, it is one of my favorite movies to watch and watch and rewatch… and it’s been more than a year and possibly more than two since you borrowed it… and you’re kind of being an immature baby right now… Thanks.”

Seasonal Sin Devastates Community

What the flip is it with something like 40% of my friends just deciding to give in to sin all at the same time? I don’t write the word “deciding” flippantly either. These are not unintentional sins or sins that have caught them off-guard. These are sins where they believe what they are doing is sinful, and they choose it anyway. These are pre-meditated sins that have been discussed, negotiated, reasoned… and then chosen. Is there an astronomical phenomenon that is victimizing Tucson right now? Is this just a stage of life when people can’t take it anymore? Is it a full-moon and they are all werewolves? It feels that absurd to me – like I’m genuinely wondering how this is possible.

I’m trying not to be pissed about it. I’m trying to roll with the punches. After all, it’s outside the realm of my control, and sin is human nature, right? Right. Only… I feel a strong sense of personal failure every time so-and-so are getting a divorce, or that one friend got a DUI, or that other friend starts dating the wrong sort of guy … I know I should be less naive, but it’s really just blowing my mind how many of my friends’ marriages are either hanging by a thread, or no longer hanging at all because they’ve already plummeted into the abyss. And how are there so many Christian dudes deciding that now is the time to assert their homosexuality – men who were previously pastors or who are breaking up with their wives to pursue men? How is this possible? Where are all of the people who have some fight to them? What happened to the life strategy of, “Resist the Devil and he will flee from you?”

All of the grudge-holding, sexual immorality, divorce, gossip, unequal yoking, etc… have me feeling worn. They seem to be more prevalent now than they’ve ever been in my life, and there are times when it takes my breath away.

And, okay, I’ve gotta give credit that a few of them are trying, but there are a ton of them who are not. They aren’t hiding it. They aren’t ashamed. “They’ve forgotten how to blush…” ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I suppose it’s an arrogance of youth that I believed it wouldn’t happen to us. And maybe it’s a personal arrogance that I’m able to question how much fight they’ve really expended. I’m just… pained over it. I’m irritated. I’m questioning how much anyone can have really known God AND made willful choices to transgress/disobey. I’m concerned – not because of the sin, but because of the staggering lack of repentance in most of them.

I’ve been working on memorizing Psalm 51 for a good, long while, and it seems so relevant right now. It’s the one that David wrote in response to his experience with Nathan the prophet’s rebuke over Bathsheba, and it’s full of, “Have mercy on me!” “Purge me with hyssop!” “Wash me!” “Blot out my transgressions!” “Create in me a clean heart!”

It’s possibly my favorite chapter in all of the Bible, because it reminds me that even the men who truly love God need abundant mercy. Also, I love the history that goes with hyssop and its relation to the Passover, when God spared those who were His, and I love the way the chapter, though it’s Old Testament, overtly calls for the grace provided by Jesus.

I wish we were all so close to God that we would come out of our sin with humility and trembling. That’s not the attitude that currently surrounds me. The attitude is more along the lines of, “This is what I’m doing, and it’s not really negotiable. ” ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

