The Protection of the Cross


While reading John Stott’s The Cross of Christ, I came across something that subtly knocked me on my ass.

Thus from Christian birth to Christian death, as we might put it, the church seeks to identify and protect us with a cross.

This statement was interesting to me, because the cross should probably a symbol of protection to us. After all, it is the spot where Christ took the punishment we deserved. And yet, when I think of the iconic symbol of that substitutionary atonement, I’m ashamed to admit that I see a target rather than a shield.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

