“That Which We Call a Rose by Any Other Name Would Smell as Sweet!”


I’ve taught Romeo and Juliet for the past couple of years, and even though I always initiate discussions with students about the power in a name (power to start or end a feud, for example), and yet, I’m not sure I truly considered that power before a few days ago.

I met a nice lady named Doris.

I said something like, “Hi, I’m Kate.”

And I felt very powerful.

You see, no one really calls me Kate except a cousin who I only see once a year.

Except… when I’m playing video games, I always name my character Kate.

It seems a bit more versatile than Katie or Kathryn. Katie always seems cutesie to me, and Kathryn seems regal. Kate can be cute, regal, B.A., erudite, calm, etc…

Thus, I have determined to start introducing myself to new folks as Kate.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

