Book Review: David Benioff’s City of Thieves


I began reading this one because the back of the book made it sound like a grand adventure… two young men in Nazi-sieged and starving Leningrad are tasked with procuring a dozen eggs for a wedding cake? It sounded just absurd enough to be awesome, which it was. However, I have to admit it wasn’t what I was expecting.

Humor –> Of course I was expecting humor
Darkness –> Not so much
Disturbing Images –> Not so much
Crass humor –> Maybe, maybe not
SERIOUSNESS –> Nope

Overall, I think I’d compare this book to a belching ballerina… vulgar, yet unmistakeably elegant. It’s beautifully crafted and written, and I suspect that if I were to reread this one, I’d probably fall in love with it. If you can handle a little profanity and some terrible (but probably relatively honest) violence, this is a good one to read. Probably more of a book for dudes, but I found a lot in it to enjoy.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

