The Dating Trenches (Online): A Relationship From Beginning to End


DUDE SAYS: Hello, how are you?
Nov 22, 2013 – 11:27pm
I SAY: I’m okay. You?
DUDE SAYS: Fine thanks, my name is Luis, is your name Kathry?

(Let’s ignore the fact that he forgot the ‘n’ on my name…)

Nov 25, 2013 – 4:24pm

I SAY: My name is Kathryn.Unfortunately, I don’t think you and I are a great match. Good luck, though!

DUDE SAYSNov 28, 2013 – 12:07pm

Ok, no problem, I understand, but I would like to know why do you think we are not a great match?
I SAY: Nov 29, 2013 – 11:30am

I’m just really serious about Christianity, and I saw that you put “other” for your religion. I’m looking for a man who will lovingly lead me to be closer to Christ, and it doesn’t seem like that’s your priority. You also answered some of the questions about sex in ways that were concerning. Examples: Would you date someone just for the sex? You answered yes. Also: Would you consider roleplaying out a rape fantasy with a partner who asked you to? You answered yes. That’s really disturbing to me.
DUDE SAYS: Nov 29, 2013 – 1:02pm

Wow you really put attention about some little details of my answers that I didn’t remenber, I understand you in some way, but I think there are most important things that you should see the next profiles, good luck.
(It’s not important to me, an English teacher, that he’s misspelled remember, right?)

Nov 29, 2013 – 5:05pm

I SAY: Girls tend to care about the details. The details add up to a whole person. My weekly schedule includes three nights of church a week, fifteen minutes of reading my Bible every morning, and time for prayer at night so I REALLY need to find a guy who lives a lifestyle that’s compatible with mine. Your details lead me to believe that yours isn’t, but if I’m mistaken, you should let me know.

That being said, my profile actually says the following:”I will probably respond to you with a polite no if: Your answers to questions about sex do not indicate a deep commitment to the obedience of Christ.”

It might help you out if you pay a little more attention to the details on girls’ profiles. I put that there for a reason. Additionally, I mention my faith three times on my profile page, which was my way of indicating what my life is about. You said you think there are more important things I should see next time, but I’m wondering what you think is more important… if we aren’t compatible in our beliefs about the purpose of life, no amount of chemistry is going to keep us together.

DUDE SAYS: Nov 29, 2013 – 5:31pm
Yea sure, I didn’t see that about: “Your answers to questions about sex do not indicate a deep commitment to the obedience of Christ.” but… Let me say something you with all respect, you are a religios fanatic, I understand that, but you should be aware that the most of the people are different, just a last thing, in the life we can’t love the same way two things, then you must decide between a man and God, good luck again.
I SAY: Nov 30, 2013 – 8:58pm
Agreed. I choose God.
It’s nice when the secular world actually paraphrases the Bible to me… it makes my life significantly easier; I don’t know about you, but I’m seeing Matthew 7:13 and John 12:46… among others.
3 thoughts on “The Dating Trenches (Online): A Relationship From Beginning to End

  1. Is it OK that this made me laugh? To quote Lori: Wow! I really feel sad for this guy.

    Lord, bring him to you! Let this conversation continue to stir in his mind and drive him to seek you and see what you’re really like – what makes Katie so committed to you! Pierce his heart with the truth and bring him to faith in you, Jesus! In your name. Amen.

    Don’t lose heart. There is a man the Lord has for you!! Oh my. Still laughing…

  2. That dude is in for a shock when he meets his Maker. Asking a girl to choose between perfection or a guy that in the best presentation of himself sounds like a 14-year old… Not a smart move.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

