The Blessing of Weddings


This weekend I got to be in my first wedding. I really do mean that I got to be in it.  A lot of singles I know hate weddings. HATE them. I do not. In the past few years, I’ve been blessed to attend some spectacular weddings. I’ve been moved to tears. I’ve had my breath taken away. And I am pleased to tell you that the wedding of the weekend surpassed all the others.

I don’t remember exactly when I met Jordan, but over the years, she’s become a dear friend of mine. She is one of the humblest, sweetest girls I’ve ever known, and I treasure her in a perfectly unique way. Like many of Jordan’s Tucson friends, I felt as if the guy she ended up with would have to be the nicest guy in the whole history of the world.

Enter Jeremy.

We all first got to meet Jeremy a few months ago, when the couple came down to Tucson for a weekend. He’s a farmer extraordinaire and, as high as our standards were for Jordan’s fella, he surpassed them all. He comes from an amazing family, works hard, and is a genuinely good guy in the most honest, wholesome manner. He’s the perfect match for Jordan.

Friday morning, I headed out toward the big CA, and arrived in Holtville an hour or two before the rehearsal, and I totally didn’t know what to expect. Having never been in a wedding, brides always seem a bit like celebrities to me. I’ve always felt like I shouldn’t be that person who hogs all of the bride’s time or expects her to pay any attention to me – after all, everyone wants a piece of them, right? But that’s what I loved about being in the bridal party.

Jordan’s wedding is the first one where I realized what the bridal party is really about. Prior to this weekend, I think I secretly believed it was a status thing – like bridal parties include the people bride and groom want to display for all the world to admire. It’s as if they’re saying, “Look at my attractive friends! I have so many of them, too!” After this weekend, I think I get it a bit better that it’s really about those people who have been there and will hopefully continue to be there for a lifetime. I’ve been to so many weddings where the bridal party friendships don’t even last a year beyond the wedding, but Jordan’s bridesmaids have all withstood the test of time, and all of us wanted it to be a perfect day for Jordan. I was honored that Jordan included me, not because I needed a chance for everyone to admire my pretty dress, but because I got to make sure Jordan got her Starbucks when she was off doing this or that to make things go smoothly. I was honored to get to take care of her a bit on her big day.

Once the wedding got going, everything fell into place. The sun sunk down slowly enough for perfect lighting and a beautiful sunset. The twinkle lights spread romance and whimsy. The food was amazing. The dance floor was lively and full.

I couldn’t have hoped for more for Jordan and her fella.

So thank you, my friend, for teaching me how a wedding should be and giving me hope for my own future.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

