What Else Would I Do While I’m Sick?


Holy dang. I have been sitting in this chair since 6:30 this morning. It’s now 4:27 pm. It’s not even a comfortable chair.

I’m sitting at my kitchen table doing nothing because I’m sick. If I could have just waited two more days, I could have been sick over the weekend, but here I am, hating that I had to have a sub today, and wasting 10 hours on the interwebs.

Do you know what I’ve done today?

I sent in my sub plans, and it was all downhill from there. I rated books on Goodreads and Amazon for about three hours. Then I read blog posts, including one at Hyperbole and a Half that leads me to believe I should see someone who can diagnose me with depression and prescribe me some happy pills. Then I wrote a blog post. Next, I read every single blog post I wrote back in 2011, which, by the way, was very sad. That year was pretty much the confusingest ever, and all I could really think about as I was reading about lost friendships was how sad it was that I hadn’t even lost all of the friends I was going to lose. Also, the (hopefully) final lost friendship didn’t even happen until the beginning of this year, and I still don’t have a clue what the Hell happened with that one. Then, that year ended with the Beast dying, and, as I hadn’t cried about that one since the day it happened, I couldn’t help sitting here in my kitchen, ill, and sobbing about the loss of “My Phantom Limb.” 😦

I’m terrible at being sick. I know that makes it seem like there are people who are good at it, and maybe there aren’t, but some of us are just particularly unpleasant in ways that others are not.

So… what’s in store for the rest of the day? I intend to sleep through a movie or two, do the dishes, read, write, walk, and go to bed, but if prior choices are any indication of future ones, I’ll probably just sit in this chair staring at pixels and wishing I could breathe through my nose.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

