Raphael Sbarge?! Where Have You Been All My Life?


Carth Onasi has been my video game boyfriend for the past eight years or so.

And yes, it’s incredibly nerdy for me to have a video game boyfriend.

No. He is not a real person I met in an MMO or some other online gaming thing.

He is fictional.

I love him the same way I love Gil from Anne of Green Gables.

And, okay, I may have set his image as the wallpaper for my work computer – you know, the pic where he’s standing on a ledge above the Ebon Hawk near the beach of the unknown Rakatan world.

And I’ve faithfully replaid Knights of the Old Republic more times that some people have brushed their teeth, making sure to always play as a female, light side character so that I might be able to kiss Carth just one more time (and never have to kill him).

But, let’s be honest, even super-expansive games only have so much replay value.

So I was getting bored, and needed a new game to fall in love with.

I had a bit of a fling with Ezio, and his black armor is ultra-sexy, but I’m not at all excited about the upcoming pirate thing they’re doing with the game, and the replay value of Assassin’s Creed (any of them) is non-existent, because there isn’t any way to change the storyline.

So… I went to Game Stop and picked up all three of the Mass Effect games.

I know. It was incredibly risky of me to purchase all three games without having played (or even viewed) any of them. However, I’ve been assured by many, MANY people that Mass Effect is the game for me. Also, Mass Effect is a BIOWARE product (as is Knights of the Old Republic … the first one, anyways) and I seem to love BIOWARE games.

So I started playing.

I talked to the captain, started my mission on Eden Prime, and noticed that there was something odd about Lt. Kaiden Alenko – something mysterious and tragic. Sort of like how Carth’s wife was murdered when Telos was bombed.

And that’s when it hit me! Kaiden and Carth are exactly the character! And voice!

Raphael Sbarge is the voice actor who brings my two love interests to life, and I can’t help but wonder if Mr. Sbarge is on the Convention Circuit (*Update: He is on the circuit, but wasn’t in Phoenix), and whether he’d be willing to sign my games with something to the effect of, “To Kate Shepherd with love. From Kaiden,” or possibly, “I never actually loved Revan. Kate is the only Jedi for me. Love Carth.”

Creepy?

Okay. I suppose something like, “For Katie. From Carth,” would do just as well, eh? 😉

But in all seriousness, I’m LOVING Mass Efffect! It may become my new favorite game, because I am getting a little tired of rebuilding my light saber every few months, and having to act all shocked to discover that I AM REVAN!!!!!!!! So some new twists and turns (without having to go through the trouble of getting the internets in my house just so I can subscribe to the MMO to find out what happened to Revan and the Exile) are a much-needed change. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Raphael Sbarge?! Where Have You Been All My Life?

  1. Totally understandable. I’ve gotten super attached to characters in games, many times. Knights of the Old Republic was the bomb! Currently, I’m coming to terms with how attached I’m getting to my team in Mass Effect. I just started playing Mass Effect 2, and I’ve avoided spoilers, but I know I must be headed for some loss and I’m not looking forward to it lol.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

