Attributes of an Outstanding Friend


 

The attributes of a good friend as evidenced by the outstanding characteristics my current friends exhibit:

 

Steve – In all situations, I’m convinced that Steve will not only know what to do, but execute it well and explain why his solution makes sense. He knows pretty much everything and is good at pretty much everything, and I’m often jealous of how much he understands. He also manages this without coming across as a know-it-all, because he’s also rather humble.

 

 

Lori The primary reason I believe Lori and I have managed to remain friends is her calm and steady nature. In spite of several years when I was almost completely unavailable to Lori, we’re back to hanging out on a weekly basis. Most friends would have been like, “Screw Katie! She clearly doesn’t care about me!” However, Lori has never once made me feel terrible for my “Drops of Jupiter” trek out into the land of Salsa dancing and angsty stupidity.

 

 

Dave – My favorite attribute of Dave’s is the grace with which He corrects me. He’s observed quite a few of my darkest moments and managed to simultaneously rebuke, edify, and comfort me.

 

 

Lisa – Lisa is the best listener I know. God gave us two ears and one mouth because we’re meant to talk half as much as we listen, right? Lisa not only listens and asks questions, but she makes her words count. She doesn’t speak frivolously or carelessly; she uses her words to build up.

 

 

Matt – Of all my friends, the one I most often hope will be at group events is Matt. He lightens the mood, makes people laugh, teases, and plays. It doesn’t matter which combination of people show up to an event; if Matt is there, I feel confident I’ll have a good time.

 

 

Ashly – I think I have more in common with Ashly than I have with anyone else in my life. She loves literature, understands Comicon and other geeky fun, and just generally enjoys the things I also enjoy. She’s also a high school English teacher, which gives us hours of material to discuss.

 

 

Amy the Dentist – I’m not sure I’ve ever met anyone who is quite as humble as Amy is.

 

 

I think I’ve been in a phase of bad friendship. I’ve struggled to listen or even care about the people in my life. I haven’t prayed well for them or thought about what I can do to help them out, and I’ve been disappointed to discover incompetence, flakiness, condemnation, selfishness, rain-on-the-parade, and arrogance in my heart. 😦

 

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

