10 Reasons Lisa is the Best Woman I Know


10. The advice. Lisa knows everything (or at least almost everything). In my experience, Lisa is capable of giving advice about friendships, travel, romance, food, exercise, family, pets, anxiety, faith, and everything else you could ever imagine (except comicon, but I’ve got that one covered on my own).

9. Knowledge of the kitchen. I’ve become pretty decent in the kitchen in recent years, and that’s only been possible because Lisa tells me about things like spaghetti squash. πŸ™‚

8. Fierce/funny side. The moments when Lisa unleashes a raised tone are super-rare, but they’re pretty awesome. My favorite one happened when I wasn’t taking help that I needed, so she was all like, “Katie! Take the help!” Of course that wasn’t exactly what she said, but what’s important is that she has that in her. She isn’t the type to just sit back and let other people have all of the personality and fun.

7. Smooth-criminal conversations. So… I just put the criminal part in there for fun, but one of the things I admire most is Lisa’s ability to talk to people about their lives without that feeling of awkward or “What do I say now?” She sort of helps people talk to her, which is pretty cool.

6. She’s a pretty lady who has class. She dresses in a completely casual, but nice sort of way, and she always looks amazing. It doesn’t matter if she’s dressed up all fancy or wearing work-out clothes, she seems comfortable and lovely at the same time. Also, she never makes the women around her feel like they’re less than she is, even though she is obviously better-dressed for every occasion. She also has a pretty hot bod since she’s always working out πŸ˜‰

5. Mommy-ness. When I get around kids, I’m a mess. I’m one of those people who doesn’t feel comfortable talking to them in baby-talk, so I talk to them like they’re adults, and usually what I’m saying is, “If you cry right now, I’ll begin to believe you hate me, and that will ruin my self-esteem. I’ll get depressed, and neither of us wants that, right? Right.” But Lisa has this ease with kids of all ages… an ease that I aspire to someday.

4. Lisa is smart, but she isn’t mean. She reads books, and, of course, I love people who read books, but the majority of my experience with people who read books is that they want everyone to know that they read.

3. Cancer. Enough said.

2. Lisa is my living example of Proverbs 31… She is an excellent woman. “She is far more precious than jewels. The heart of her husband trusts in her, and he will have no lack of gain. She does him good, and not harm, all the days of her life. She… works with willing hands… She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household… She dresses herself with strength and makes her arms strong…. She opens her hand to the poor and reaches out her hands to the needy… Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come. She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her:
β€œMany women have done excellently,
but you surpass them all.”
Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain,
but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.
Give her of the fruit of her hands,
and let her works praise her in the gates.”
(Proverbs 31:10-31 ESV)

1. She is the woman I hope to one day become. There are so many women in this world who I absolutely wouldn’t want to be, because they are less than I expect of myself. I wouldn’t want to look, think, act, live, love, eat, serve, cook, run, talk, or do much of anything the way they do it. But I want to do all of those things the way Lisa does them. I want to be just like her in a completely childish way. I’m that kid in the corner who imitates the way she sits, how she puts food on her fork, how she uses her napkin, etc… I want to be just like her, and not just in her virtues, but also in the unique traits of her personality.

3 thoughts on “10 Reasons Lisa is the Best Woman I Know

  1. That such nice things to say about someone. I wonder if you (or anyone) make a list with ’10 reason why I am the best woman I know’ would it measure up to how we see others? ..uumm..curiosity πŸ™‚

    • I could see myself making a list about the 10 things I most like about myself, but I’m too busy hiding my arrogance to just come out and say that I’m the best woman I know. πŸ˜‰

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

