Just an Update


birthday cake

birthday cake (Photo credit: freakgirl)

Life has been going, and I’ve been struggling to keep up, but I’ve been incredibly blessed in tons of ways, and I thought I’d share.

First, my birthday happened. Every year, I expect my birthday to pass by without anyone noticing, but there’s no reason for me to believe that. Every year, my friends throw me spectacular parties and buy me wonderful gifts, and I feel SO loved. This year, I had a combined party with the Hilsts, which was lovely. We just watched movies and played board games all day. Ashly made some pumpkin pancakes and it was possibly the most relaxing bday I’ve had. Additionally, I talked Steve and Lori into going to Applebee’s, and the HIlsts joined in. There was much talk of the strange change that occurred for us all, because we loved Applebee’s at one time, but our tastes have evidently matured, because it was pretty gross… all except the blondie. One of my students completely blessed me by sneaking TWO bouquets of balloons into my classroom, one big bouquet of flowers, and a giftcard to Starbucks. This particular student is one I’ve taught for the past 3 years, and this year, she’s a senior who comes in for help and just to talk about twice a day. She’s the student I’ve been most privileged and honored to work with, and the first one I’ve ever hoped to see every-so-often for the rest of my life. However, of all the things she did for me for my bday, the best was the card she left for me. It has a picture of Yoda, and it says, “Joy, celebration, life I feel. Happening, something wonderful is. Happy Birthday.” But this student also wrote the following, which must be enlarged:

“God bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.” (Numbers 6:24-26)

Ms. James 🙂 Happy Birthday!!!

I am glad that God prepared you in my life to help me.

And I may have cried. Right there. In my classroom. And I may have broken my no-touch rule with students to give her a hug. And I may keep that card for the rest of my life.

Finally (I know… the bday jubilance just won’t end), I also went out for dinner with my dad, and it was an altogether wonderful blessing of a bday.

Thanksgiving happened. This is the first Thanksgiving for my parents living across the country, but not the first I’ve spent without them. It sounds like they had a splendid time with family in North Carolina, and I thoroughly enjoyed the Wattoons, Hilsts/Whipps, and Kevin. I got to make pecan pie, which is my fave.

I still haven’t heard anything certain about the house I’m trying to buy. The seller’s bank has communicated their plans to accept my offer after they change something else on the contract. So, hopefully that’s going to happen soon. Like now. Because I’m getting antsy.

And, finally, I was bragging just the other day about how there aren’t ANY speeding tickets on my record. I even went to court and disputed a ticket, and I TOTALLY WON, because I really don’t speed very often and I didn’t deserve that particular ticket. However, about 48 hours after my bragging, I may have been running late to work, driving 41 in a 25, that is a construction zone. That’s right, I’m pretty sure that calls for a criminal ticket or something with outrageous fees, but I think when the cop realized that I have ZERO tickets on a driving record of more than a decade, he felt sorry for me and only wrote the ticket for driving 35 in a 25 non-construction zone. So I will be attending online driving school conducted by a comedic improv. group. I’m not entirely sure the class is going to be as fun as that sounds, but whatevs. As I was registering for the class and whatnot, I did crack up a bit because there were little buttons all over the website asking me to “like” this particular driving school on Facebook. I’m not sure anyone likes driving school, but as Facebook permeates our existence, I guess I can see their point. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Just an Update

  1. Wow! What a wonderful celebration! You are dearly loved 🙂 I ditto your students bday wishes and prayer for you. May the Lord bless and keep you and make His face shine upon you. May He give you the desires of your heart!

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

