The Best-Laid Plans of Mice and Men


I wasn’t going to do it this year.

I wasn’t ready.

But then Halloween rolled around, and there I was feeling sort off unhappy for no reason at all, and one of my freshman students was all excited about how she was going to do it this year, and she needed my help to talk through things… and I was like, “Well, crap. I have to do it.”

After all, it’s been exactly a year since I started my current manuscript, and I’ve already planned out all of the rewrites I can think of, I’ve done a ton of interviews and other research, and I’ve even tried the trial version of Scrivener. That’s all that’s really necessary for preparation, right?

Right.

So I went to Starbucks on Thursday and went through my first chapter for about three hours, thinking I’d quit right away if it went at all poorly.

And it did go poorly because it takes me forever to write anything nowadays… or, better yet, it takes me forever to think nowadays.

But I went home that night tired and feeling as if things were a bit too surreal for me.

And then I slept really well.

And I woke up and got out of bed without wallowing.

And I was nicer to my students.

And I realized the undeniable truth that writing makes me a better person. It brings me great joy that overflows into everything I do.

So even though I don’t think I have nearly enough time and will probably not make it through even 25,000 words this year, I’m participating in NaNoWriMo!

Feel free to friend kathrynleighaz if you are also participating in a month of literary abandon. 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Best-Laid Plans of Mice and Men

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

