My New Obsession


Pretty! This is my newest color!

When my sister got married, I got my nails done for the first time, and I remember Steve (Lori #1’s hubby) acting very sure that I was going to hate it. I was like, “Pssssshhhh! I’m going to be such a diva with fake nails. It’s going to be awesome!”

Then, I got the fake nails, and I hated them.

They were long and pretty, but they inhibited me in every way imaginable. I couldn’t work buttons and zippers on my clothes. I for sure couldn’t play softball. I couldn’t type. I couldn’t eat. And, okay, they weren’t quite as bad as all that, but I definitely became ultra-aware of my hands, and tried hard not to break the darn things by using my hands in a normal way.

About twenty minutes after the wedding, I ripped the things off. I’m sure there’s some sort of process for getting them off painlessly and without the weird glue-y-ness residue sticking around forever, but I couldn’t handle it any longer. I had to be rid of them.

Well, I recently decided that I no longer want to pay for pedicures, especially because I rip my feet all to Hell when the running season comes around, and it doesn’t feel great to have someone rubbing pumice stone all over a two-inch blood blister.

So… I’ve started a small collection of nail polish. And did you know that it’s really not expensive? I can buy at least 3 bottles for $10, and more like 5 bottles if I buy the Walgreens cheap kind.

Look! Purple!

And you know what’s also amazing? I got excited one day, and decided to paint my fingernails to match my toes, and I feel oh-so-well-accessorized just because my nails are painted. And now that I’m done playing softball, I’m not quite as annoyed when my nails get all long and impractical.

I know that some of you reading this are boys, and you probably don’t care, but this has oddly become an important part of my  life lately, and I think about it at least ten times a day. Anything you think about that often is worthy of a blog post in my opinion.

🙂

2 thoughts on “My New Obsession

    • Whoa! That’s a brilliant idea. Then, I can utilize multiple colors at once.

      Also, your comment definitely reminds me of the new STAR TREK movie when Scotty is explaining interstellar transport while traveling at warp speed. He says, “It’s like trying to hit a bullet with a smaller bullet, whilst riding a horse.”

      🙂

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

