Oh, the technologies


I know I should probably just suck it up and get a smart phone. I currently rock a Razzle. I know you don’t know what a Razzle is, because it’s one of the free phones you could get like three years ago. It looks a little like a Blackberry/MP3 player combo, but I assure you, it doesn’t resemble those devices in any way other than appearance. Verizon has emailed me several times either trying to sell me a smart phone or trying to get me to fill out a survey explaining why I haven’t already jumped on board the techno band wagon.

I subscribed to my first ever podcast last week.

I was at dinner a month or so ago, and I presented some sort of problem like, “I can’t remember blah-bitty-blah,” and my friend was all, “Just look it up on your phone… well, not your phone.” HA. HA.

So I get that smart phones are helpful. If I had one, I wouldn’t have to keep looking up directions to places in advance, and then writing them down with a pencil and paper because I don’t have a printer. I also wouldn’t have to map my run like a week before running it. I would not have to look recipes up online, then copy them with pencil and paper… basically, I’d be able to get rid of my pencil and paper.

Also, I’d get to feel a lot like Cpt. Picard when he uses his cool tablet thing in his ready room.

Those things would be nice.

But I don’t understand why I’d pay for something that I really don’t need.

Do I want one?

Yes.

Do I need one?

No.

So how can I justify the stupid monthly data package that costs almost as much as my entire phone bill costs right now?

It’s been awhile since we’ve done a poll, so let me know what you think.

4 thoughts on “Oh, the technologies

  1. Well that depends. You don’t NEED a smartphone but it does make things easier. I just converted to a Smartphone a month ago. I held out as long as I could and I’m a huge nerd. With my smartphone I can stay on top of my email and blog as well as text with a degree of freedom I’m still exploring.
    Not to mention the various apps that help you do things in your daily routine. I have a better alarm clock, calorie counter, flashlight app, finance organizer, etc etc.
    That doesn’t even get into the fact I have the internet at my fingertips at all time. I can look up random information whenever I need.

  2. Don’t do it!!! I am in the SAME position. I feel like I should get one, but I don’t need one. My phone is even lamer than yours and it was free 2 years ago, but it still works. I want to use it until it breaks. I think smart phones take over your life. I imagine checking my work and personal email a million times a day, looking on facebook and posting on facebook too much, and being owned by it. I think I’m going to use my phone until it breaks and then get a cheap one. It is my way of setting boundaries for work and being cheap. πŸ™‚

  3. Okay, I’m forming the alliance of stupid phone users. Lori, you are the president. I will be creator. Any one else interested in joining? We’ll need a marketing rep for sure, so we can help others find us, because Lord knows there must be millions searching for support. πŸ˜‰

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

