For The Two or Three of You Who Care


It occurs to me that I haven’t given you a personal update in awhile. I know that some of you probably don’t care much about what’s going on in my life, but others of you probably read the blog precisely because you want to know what I’m up to (since I don’t call you as often as I ought to).

So…

1. I have already signed a full-time contract for teaching next year! Woohoo. I actually signed it before the end of the semester. This is the first time that’s ever happened! Next year, I will still be at IRHS, but I will no longer be in Language Acquisition; instead, I’ll pick up three freshman English classes to go along with two junior classes. I did student teaching with freshmen, and they have a delightful naivete to them, so I’m looking forward to it. Also, I’ll be teaching Ender’s Game, which has been on my reading list for quite some time, and now I have an extra bit of motivation to read it soon.

2. My parents are moving. They’ve been looking into living in North Carolina with my grandmother for at least a year now, and it’s looking like that move will happen soon. They put an offer on a house and are looking at closing next month, which means they’ll have to occupy by September… something about the type of loan they got. That means I’ll pretty much be all by my lonesome here in the desert, but between the Johnsons, Hilsts, Shasta and everyone else, I’m not too terribly frightened. I’ve got somewhere to go for all of the major holidays, and I know my mom will feel better getting to be close to her mommy.

3. People keep asking about the manuscript, so I thought I’d give you some stats. I’m at 35,000 words, which is about 15,000 under my goal. On November 1st, I’ll have my one-year anniversary with this particular piece, and I’m hoping to have a full draft that’s undergone at least two revisions by that time. If I don’t quite get to that point, I’ll probably use NaNoWriMo to make sure that happens, although I’d dearly love to start a new project… no, I do not have anything in mind yet.

4. I have not been running. I think my most recent race was in March, and since then, I’ve run a total of about four miles. Yes, I am doing this intentionally. I want to give my body and mind a break, and take some time to do yoga and tae bo instead. Oddly enough, my knees have been the only negative to not running. They hurt a bit, which is the opposite of what I expected to happen. I will run again. The next race I’m planning to do is a half marathon in December.

5. This summer, I’m going on a cruise. I’ve never been on one before, so I’m pretty jazzed. I’m going with Lisa G. and we’re leaving on June 15… We’ll spend a night in New Orleans, checking out the French Quarter, then we’ll depart the next day and be gone for 5 days. I bought a new bathing suit for the occasion, which was way less unfortunate than shopping for a bathing suit usually is. The one I got is not immodest at all, nor does it make me feel like a 90-yr-old. It actually makes me feel a little like Marilyn Monroe, and I only had to shop for about five minutes to find it. (Don’t hate… congratulate!). The cruise will take us to the Western Carribbean. I’m not exactly sure what that means other than that we will be seeing some flamingos, and I WILL get Lisa to love Texas Hold’em in spite of her hatred for games. I’m also really looking forward to getting Starbucks on the ship. That seems like a surreal sort of experience that I will thoroughly enjoy.

Other than those things, I can’t think of much else that’s going on that I’m going to tell you about πŸ™‚ Ha! I’m just enjoying the summer. I will be painting some because Pastor Pete has agreed to hang my artwork in our new church building (I might cut my ear off if he doesn’t like my work) πŸ™‚ I’m also going to try to cook a bit while I have the time, and you can probably find me at Starbucks on most days between the hours of 10 am and 4 pm. Of course I’m not here that entire time, but writing usually takes up about 2 hours of my day.

What are all of you up to this summer? Anyone going on a cruise also?

Much love,

Katie

9 thoughts on “For The Two or Three of You Who Care

    • Evanlaar: Huh?

      I’m not sure it’s possible to leave Jesus at home, and I’m certainly not going to attempt to do that. πŸ™‚ I’ll have my Bible with me, and Lisa is one of the classiest girls I know, so we might each get a drink or two and pretend that we know how to dance, but that’s about as wild and crazy as it gets with us.

  1. Thanks for update, Katie πŸ™‚ So glad to hear what you are up to. May God bless you in everything you do! May He establish the work of your hands as you commit yourself to Him.
    Yours in Christ,
    Natalie

    • P.S. What am I up to…Well, it’s not technically *me* but it sorta is…My hubby is going to Uganda in 10 days. He is going w/several men from church. I would love your prayers for them and for the trip! God has connected us in the past 6 months with a wonderful family in Uganda and their ministry. We don’t know what God is doing, but we know it is good! We just want to follow where He leads.

      I’m a bit scared of water, so cruises are out for me, but I’d love to fly to anywhere tropical πŸ™‚ I hope you have a great time on your cruise!

        • It is so obvious that it is the Lord at work. My husband is the last person you would expect to go to Uganda, but the HolySpirit just moved him and so he is going πŸ™‚ They are going to check out a school there (mostly orphans attend, 500 children total) and to check out the site where they (the ministry there: World Shine Ministries) want to build a dormitory for the children to live. Our little fellowship has felt prompted to pull up alongside WSM and partner with them, so it’s mostly to see how the ministry runs – to see it in action. Also, the 4 men from our church will be speaking/helping run 2 conferences while they are there. Thank you so much for your prayers!!

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

