What’s it feel like to get a tattoo?


Hello, dear readers!

I’m back from my bloggy break, and working out a writing schedule for the summer. I’m currently hoping to post about 4 times a week, but planning on for-sure posting more like 3 times a week. I think the break did me a lot of good, but I’ve also missed you all terribly. I love the kinds of things I end up writing about here at STILL GROWING, so I’m glad to be back.

Unfortunately, today’s post is nothing magical or deep, but give me a break, it’s my first day back!

About a month ago, I got my second tattoo, and just about everyone in the world (who’s never gotten a tattoo) wants to know what it feels like. I really don’t understand the question, but I’m about to give you the truest answer I have.

Well, it feels like someone is jamming a small needle into your skin repeatedly.

I know that’s not the answer most people want, but it’s what I’ve got.

Does it hurt?

Well… yes. It hurts a lot like it would hurt if someone repeatedly stabbed a little needle into your skin.

๐Ÿ™‚

But just for the sake of fun, let’s say I’m not allowed to give that answer.

Okay. Well, as I was lying on the table a month ago, getting inked. Sitting completely still. For an hour and a half… I realized something. The experience that most completely matches what it’s like to get a tattooย is going to the dentist.

Hear me out on this one.

The dentist makes you sit in an uncomfortable position for a really long time while he pokes around at things that probably shouldn’t be poked. You become self conscious about how still you are (or aren’t) being, how often you breathe and whether you’ve taken good enough care of yourself so that the dentist doesn’t judge you.

The exact same things happen when you’re getting a tattoo.

Sitting still. Self-conscious. Painful poking. Wondering if the artist notices how fat you are or that your flesh is the color and shape of a wispy cloud on a summer’s day… or possibly that you missed that same spot you always miss when shaving.

It’s pretty much the exact same thing as going to the dentist.

๐Ÿ™‚

Have a lovely week.

5 thoughts on “What’s it feel like to get a tattoo?

    • There is no picture, but I will describe it to you and then show it to you when we hang out this weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

      It is approximately four inches by two and a half inches, and it says “The Lord is near to the broken-hearted and saves the crushed in spirit.” That’s taken from Psalm 34:18, and yes, I know that the ESV does not hyphenate brokenhearted, but I wanted mine hyphenated.

      The tattoo is located just over my left rib cage because I wanted it close to my heart ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • You’re right. It’s definitely worth it! Just beware of addiction. I’ve known more than one person who intended only to get one, then loved it so much they needed another. ๐Ÿ™‚

      What are you planning to get?

      • I have afew things in mind: A witches hat on my ankle, ‘On The Bomb’ or ‘I walk the Missionary Way’ perhaps on my wrist or arm (They’re song lyrics from Tori Amos) ๐Ÿ™‚ I definitely could see it being an addiction for me!!

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

