Undressing the Dragon


Aslan

*Here’s a repost from about a year and a half ago.

Yesterday, I was reading intermittently while catching up on some housework, and I thought I’d share a brilliant moment out of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader with you. Eustace is our main character of the moment, and has been mysteriously transformed into a dragon with no way to turn himself back. Aslan shows up one night and leads Eustace to a secluded well. There, He “tells” Eustace to undress (which is basically him peeling off his dragon skin – hopefully to become a boy again). The problem is that every time Eustace peels the skin off, he finds that there’s just another layer waiting underneath. Finally, Aslan tells Eustace that He’ll have to let him (Aslan) undress him. This is rather intimidating because Aslan is a Lion with claws that could probably do some serious damage during the undressing, but Eustace obediently lays on his back and trusts Aslan’s work.

I love this part. I love how beautifully it mirrors my struggles. I’m so intent on doing the work myself that I rarely trust. I try to peel off my own layers and make myself new, but it hardly works. There’s always another layer to be dealt with and still another. It’s only when I ask for help and trust that it will indeed come that I’m renewed at all. Also, I frequently expect the “undressing” to be painless, but it rarely is.

“The very first tear he made was so deep that I thought it had gone right into my heart.  And when he began pulling the skin off, it hurt worse than anything I’ve ever felt.”

Changing hurts. It hurts to sit still while being pruned, and it even hurts to admit that change is necessary. Yet that’s what life’s about. Sanctification. Without it, we’re stuck as treasure-hoarding dragons forever.

2 thoughts on “Undressing the Dragon

  1. Hi Katie,

    This is really good! I love the Chronicles of Narnia 🙂 Thank you for re-posting this. I have recently had a time (and maybe still am…) of God doing a lot of work – a lot of digging out things by the roots that are not of Him, don’t produce fruit for Him and block the way and choke out His work. Definitely a “pruning” period. One interesting thing that I have experienced is the joy and peace of God in the middle of the pain. I have seen it as His cloud settling on me. He gives me comfort as these things are exposed for what they are. He pours out His love, so that I don’t break under the weight of sadness. He renews my strength and encourages me as He works. Our God is so good to us!!

    I pray your life is full of the joy, peace and love of Jesus – that His Spirit is a constant flow…pouring out on you as you go through your days and as He takes of the layers.

    “Dear friends, now we are children of God, and what we will be has not yet been made known. But we know that when Christ appears, we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is. All who have this hope in him purify themselves, just as he is pure.” 1 Jn. 3:2-3

    “And we all, who with unveiled faces contemplate the Lord’s glory, are being transformed into his image with ever-increasing glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” 2 Cor. 3:18

    Love in Christ,
    Natalie

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

