Homosexuality and the Christian


I was reading 1 Corinthians a few mornings ago, and I came to some scary verses.

Or do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: neither the sexually immoral, not idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.

And a weird thing happened…

I thought about what it says there.

Of course I’ve thought about it before, but I’ve never found a way to reconcile it in my head.

Because homosexuality and the church is a can of worms I try not to open.

When I work with students on reading comprehension, the first thing we do is cover what the text actually says.

I think it says that men who practice homosexuality will not inherit the kingdom of God.

The next thing we do is figure out if it’s literal or figurative, and what it means.

I think it’s literal and it means that we are deceived if we believe men who practice homosexuality will inherit the kingdom of God.

My current manuscript deals with homosexuality, which is really terrifying, because I can’t think of a more inflamed wound I could have written about…

and yet, it’s the story I wanted to tell. The one worth telling.

My main character is a kid who believes that the Bible is the inerrant word of God.

But he’s also gay.

Which makes it seem like I’m writing a story about right-winged homophobes versus the gay parade.

I’m not.

And I think that’s one of the problems with the way the world views those scary verses from 1 Corinthians. We read them and think they’re about people condemning people…

and of course there is some of that. I can’t think of any way people try to justify themselves that doesn’t involve a comparison and judgment of others… and homosexuals are a common target.

Yet, the thing I’m up against right now, isn’t a need to feel better about myself by saying that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God. And I don’t think Paul wrote those verses out of self-justification – seeing as a ton of his writing is about salvation from grace alone.

The thing I’m up against and the thing my character is up against, and the thing we’re all up against

is whether our belief that the Bible is the inerrant word of God is stronger than any sense of self living within.

My sense of self and my character’s and everyone’s eventually comes into conflict with God, because His ways are not our ways nor are His thoughts our thoughts.

For me, the only time this has ever mattered very much is when I had to admit that the Bible says there are certain vessels made for destruction.

I can’t think of a single thing that’s more offensive than that.

But I still believe it’s true.

Because I had to choose between my belief that the Bible is the inerrant word of God and my sense of self.

I had to face Romans 9

I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion. So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God who has mercy…

Why does he still find fault? For who can resist his will?

But who are you, O man, to answer back to God? Will what is molded say to its molder, “Why have you made me like this?” Has the potter no right over the clay, to make out of the same lump one vessel for honorable use and another for dishonorable use? What if God, desiring to show his wrath and to make known his power, has endured with much patience vessels of wrath prepared for destruction…

I think that means God makes some people for destruction. I think it means a ton of other things too, but in their most basic message, I think those verses say that God creates some of us to be destroyed, and that He does no wrong in that.

If I’m honest, I’m not always okay with it saying that.

I talk to myself about predestination and freewill being a paradox.

I talk to myself about mercy and justice existing simultaneously.

But that’s not always enough.

Sometimes, I have to rely on my belief that the Bible is the inerrant word of God, and I have to deny myself.

Because I refuse to deny what the Bible says.

For Weston (he’s my main character), he has to admit that the Bible says men who practice homosexuality will not inherit the kingdom of God.

And I wish I had the capability of writing a blog post right now that explains why it says that and how it’s okay.

But I don’t.

I’m not knowledgeable or wise enough for that.

All I’ve got is my hatred of falsehood, and it would be incredibly false of me to pretend that it says something other than what it says, regardless of all the affection I hold for vessels that very well may be made for destruction and for the Westons of this world.

I do harbor great affection for them; it just isn’t greater than my affection for my Creator.

7 thoughts on “Homosexuality and the Christian

  1. I think that is a common struggle for all. It’s so hard for us to understand. One thing that may help is that a person is unrighteous if he/she is not under the blood. If he/she is under the blood, he/she has Jesus righteousness. Is homosexuality wrong? Yes. It is one of many sins. We all have a sin nature, and each of us has certain temptations that beset us more than others. If we put homosexuality in that light, it is a temptation to resist. Do we always resist our temptations? I wish. But we seek to resist and confess and turn back to God. All of us go through this cycle repeatedly as long as we live. I love homosexuals very much. I just cannot say that it is not sin because God says it is. In light of our culture’s beliefs, this becomes very difficult. Maybe your book could focus on the struggle in a way that makes since of the sin-repent-sin-repent cycle and Jesus righteousness covering our own. 🙂 Good post. Angie

    • Angie – good call with putting it in the context of Christ’s blood. The verse right after this in 1 Corinthians says “… And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.”

      Thanks for your comment.

  2. Good, honest post, Katie. Thank you for sharing your heart on a sensitive issue. It’s really not an issue, though, is it? It’s about PEOPLE. I agree that it is hard to accept some of God’s Word, but I know it is true. Even Jesus reminds us that some of the truth is very hard to accept and many turn away b/c they cannot. God is holy. He cannot be where there is sin. We cannot know His plan, but we can pray for His mercy. I feel we can still pray for Him to save every soul. His word also says that He came to seek and save all the lost. I cannot begin to fathom His plan, so I will treat each person as His lost son and daughter. I will not give up the fight! (That was mainly me giving myself a big pep talk ;)) I, personally, have erred in the past on the side of tolerating the sin b/c I did not want to judge the sinner. But, God’s Word has brought into the light that that is not OK. That is not helping anyone. That is not real love. Real love wants to save. Real love wants all to come to Jesus who saves and is the Savior, so He can wash them clean and deliver them. Anyway, I am rambling. This (homosexuality and the pervasiveness of sexual sin in general) have really been on my heart lately. I feel a call to repent for not standing firm on His Word, for not really going out in love and trying to be a bridge for people to get to Christ, for shying away from something b/c I am scared of it. Perfect love drives out fear! Blessings to you on your journey in and with Jesus! Let us continue to seek the Lord and pray for one another in faith!!

  3. P.S. I pray your book will be a tool used by God to draw many to Him and accomplish His purpose!

    P.P.S. I didn’t state this in my previous comment, but you can probably infer from it that I don’t think judgment of others is love any more than tolerating sin is! Only by living in Christ and relying on HIs Holy Spirit within each of us will we know what to do and say and will we be able to walk in real love.

    • Natalie – Thanks for sharing your thoughts. It’s so difficult to say anything about Homosexuality without feeling like a jerk… or naive. I struggle with understanding how I am to speak and think about sins of all types (but especially sexual sin).

  4. Well said. Me, too!

    Lord, help us. Fill us with you. We don’t know what to do, but our eyes are on you. Protect us from wrong paths, being deceived, rejecting your word and misrepresenting you. Build our lives firmly on you. Purify every part of us so that your light fills us and shines out! Let your perfect will be done. In Jesus’ name – Amen.

  5. I feel compelled to respond, but I’m not sure how. The subject matter evokes a lot of emotion for me.

    What I can say is I love the road that you take with this post, so much deeper than the discussion that you usually hear on either of the subjects you talk about. While I think I feel the struggle that you’ve felt with this, I end up in a different place.

    Kudos on really digging deep and taking the risk of even looking at this, it seems so many people these days are unwilling to wrestle with the issue on anything other than a superficial level. There is something, in my opinion at least, crucially important to us really taking the time and energy to wrestle with the differences between what we feel and think, and what we feel The Bible tells us about God’s will and desires. I feel like it is out of those struggles we grow and learn the most, and become more of the people God desires us to be.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

