Things I’ve Been Learning


In his book, Life Together, Deietrich Bonhoeffer wrote, “God creates every man in the likeness of His son, the Crucified… even that image certainly looked strange and ungodly to me before I grasped it.”

I’ve recently been learning that I’m different and seperate from others, and that’s okay… and I’m learning that it’s an incalculable blessing when others allow me to live as I would rather than as they would.

Sometimes I wonder if I’m doing something wrong because it seems like lots of people see me as strange and ungodly. I suspect everyone faces that problem, but it certainly feels like I’m surrounded by those who are sure I’m doing it wrong, and should work to become less strange and ungodly to them.

I’m also learning that I’m not as shrewd as I fancy I am.

Matthew 10:16 says “I am sending you out like sheep among wolves; therefore be as shrewd as snakes and as innocent as doves.”

I always thought I struggled with innocence. I spent huge portions of time trying to “take every thought captive to the obedience of Christ”, which, to me, meant getting rid of all those arrogant, selfish, wicked thoughts I had towards others. So it’s strange that upon reflection, I’m finding I’ve made any number of innocent, unshrewd choices over the past several years. I knew that lots of people saw my actions as naive, and they’d say things like, “It’s great that you have such a heart of grace, but…” and it never occurred to me that they were right, because I was so sure of the horrible, meanness inside of me, that I couldn’t imagine a version of myself that was excessively forgiving to the point of abandoning wisdom for warm fuzzies.

I’m learning that having a home that I like being in is invaluable. If and when I ever get married, I sure as heck better find a man who is okay doing his own thing lots of the time and doesn’t hate schedules. Shasta and I fit together like ‘Q’ fits with ‘U’ because most of our time at home is no-pressure, talk-to-me-if-you-feel-like-it rest and recovery… and then we plan time to get together and do accountability and talk about life: we do our own things, then we schedule together sorts of time. Bette Midler must have had a roommate like Shasta when she titled her “Experience the Divine” album.

8 thoughts on “Things I’ve Been Learning

  1. Katie, I’m glad to hear your living situation is better! Wanna run with me this weekend? I think I need to get a long run in before the distance classic. I was thinking Sunday morning.

  2. I don’t think you’re strange, but perhaps I may have some of the same “strange” habits you do;) When I am home I want that time to be quiet, restful, and relaxing.

    Glad things are working out in your new living situation.

    Also, I want to read some Boenhoeffer once when I finish Harry Potter.

    • Boenhoeffer is amazing… some of the things he writes are really frustrating because I completely disagree with him, but other things are wonderful and istruct on the heart, which is such a difficult thing for writers to achieve.

      • I made my way through The Cost of Discipleship a few years ago, and began tackling Life Together myself over the past month. Even as I was reading, I thought to myself, “Sounds like something Katie would enjoy,” based on topics that you’ve covered here. Out of curiosity, what are some of the things that you’ve completely disagreed with, and have your disagreements been primarily based in personal experience or scriptural defense? I haven’t yet finished the book.

        • I mostly disagree with him when he writes stuff like, “God hates visionary dreamers.” 🙂 He has a tendency to make statements like that as if they’re absolute truth.

          “Thus, it must be a decisive rule of every Christian fellowship that each individual is prohibited from saying much that occurs to him,” (92).

          I think his point is that we all have a lot of evil thoughts and we shouldn’t say them out loud, but the way he writes it lacks subtlety and nuance. 🙂 Sometimes I think he’s a bit too bold… but that’s also what I like about him.

          • That first statement rubbed me a little uneasy as well, but I also can’t help but wonder if the nuance gets lost in translation. Oh, to read German…

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

