Live Blog… sort of


Okay, so I’m not really going to do a live blog today, but I wish I could.

You see, it’s very cool during NANOWRIMO to do a live blog competition thing with word counts. Unfortunately, I don’t know anyone who’s going to want to compete. Also, I work on Monday, and that’s when I want to post this.

So… I guess this is more of a progressive blog or something like that. You see, I was supposed to go to a write-in last night, but I definitely skipped because the one I went to on Wednesday wasn’t awesome. I was the only person there who seemed to be serious about hitting a word count by the end of the session; the rest of them all knew each other and spent the entire time talking about the functionality of the NaNo website and conversations happening in the forums. When I took a break to talk for a few minutes, I found out that all of them had ridiculously high word counts, which struck me as odd since none of them were taking the writing seriously. Then, it all made sense… they don’t work full-time. NaNoWriMo becomes significantly more social and leisurely when you haven’t spent 8 hours corralling teenagers, followed by an hour of rest, before trying to write two thousand words before bedtime.

Also, I just wanted to play ASSASSIN’S CREED II last night without having to think or move for a few hours. By the way, the second game is WAY cooler than the first.

So… the live blog/progressive blog thing.

Today’s word count goal is 4,000. I’m currently at 4842 in my total count and want to be closer to 9000 by the end of the day. I MUST reach 7000 – otherwise, I should just give up now, because I’m not committed enough to make up the ridiculous word deficit I’ll be in if I don’t reach 7000.

BEGIN

5:30 – wake up. It’s Saturday, so I’m definitely going back to sleep. Marvel in how much better I sleep when I haven’t had coffee for a week. Also, take joy in new pillows; I bought one last weekend, and even splurged on the expensive one. Totally worth it. Haven’t had a new pillow since I was 16.

7:30 – wake up again. Still not getting up, although I probably won’t go back to sleep either.

7:40 – start getting excited about the softball game today. think about what I’ll be wearing and whether my awesome uniform pants still look amazing.

7:45 – try to figure out which side dish I’ll be taking to the picnic – definitely something made by Bashas… soooo not going to have time to cook while trying to reach my word count.

8:00 – 8:15 out of bed and trying on my softball pants. They look SOOOOO amazing. I’ve lost like 20 lbs of fat and 10 lbs of muscle since being an athlete and I actually look like a girl! Whoa! I may have to do some crazy rolling down of the waste a few times to make them fit because I’m normal-sized nowadays. Definitely doing a happy dance around the house. Good thing the roomies are still asleep. I guess I’ll put on real clothes now.

8:15 – 8:30 cooking and eating breakfast – spinach and onion omelet w/ a ham steak in a sun-dried tomato wrap. I’m pretty serious about my breakfast food.

8:30 – 834 packing up the writing gear and walking out the door.

900 arrival at starbucks. SOOOO not buying a coffee right now.

9:30 – finished checking email and starting progressive blog. Putting headphones in a getting serious about writing. It’s a Barton Hollow “Poison and Wine” half-hour to start.

Today’s Word Count: 0/4000 Total word count: 4842/9000

10:33 – taking a break for a minute. Blow my nose, re-apply lip gloss, check phone. Eucalyptus Biscuit sent me a text asking if I’m at Tucson Comic Con… My response? “Nope. starbucks. tucson is almost exclusively comic books and tabletop games – not quite my brand of nerd.” V for Vendetta is definitely on the table next to me as I type, though. Perhaps I’d fit in better than I think.

Today’s Word Count: 1,119/4,000 Total Word Count: 5,963/9,000

10:40 – Admire my word count. I did a little over a thousand words in an hour. That’s pretty good, eh. The problem will come over the next few hours as I get worn down. I am in a coffee shop, so I guess I could buy some caffeine, but I swear I’m sleeping too well to ever go back.

10:42 – Check my horoscope. That’s disappointing. It tells me that I should make quick decisions today so I don’t have time to think about them. I disagree.

10:43 – Read bible. Psalms 24 & 25.

10:52 – Update word count on NaNo website. And check out writing buddies’ word counts. Hope none of my students are beating me.

10:55 – We’re safe. Only a few people are beating me, and they’re all legit writers who have agents and whatnot.

10:58 – check to make sure I know when the softball game starts and where.

11:00 – headphones in. Writing again. This time, we’re listening to The Fray “How to Save a Life” and yes, I do play the same song for an hour straight. When I was a softball hero, I always got a song stuck in my head to keep the internal dialogue under control. It’s hard to self-berate yourself into a bad game when you’re playing a song over and over in your head.

11:37 – Break again. Check that word count! I rock!

Today’s Word Count: 2115/4000 Total Word Count: 6,957/9,000

11:41 – Okay, I could totally break right now for the day. I should have at least a few hours to write about the softball game, which means I should easily meet my goal. OR I could persevere to the end of the chapter I’m working on. Let’s take a little time to read and see how motivated I am at noon. Sound like a plan?

11:45 – took a potty break, and since the ladies’ was occupado, I used the men’s room. When I came out, there was a middle-aged man waiting and glaring at me.

11:46 – can I just admire my word count for a bit. It’s days like these that I know I’m a writer. I actually feel like I might win NaNoWriMo this year. 🙂 I’m sure I’ll feel differently when I hit 30,000 words or so.

Noon – One more go at it before the game! Headphones in. New song: JJ Heller “Love Me”.

12:18 – live blog/progressive blog/whatever to be continued after a nice break for softball and ASSASSIN’S CREED II

Today’s Word Count: 2,635/4,000 Total Word Count: 7,477/9,000

I’ll be back soon. 🙂

5:33 – I’m back! And softball was AMAZING! I have to admit that I was pretty nervous. Whenever I’m around new people, I just feel like I’m not good enough. I’m always wondering when they’re going to realize that I’m not as awesome as I seem at first glance, and I’m wondering when they’re going to abandon me. Sorry to get so deep, but I couldn’t for the life of me make a confident statement around everyone. Friend Kyle was juggling, and I got excited that we could juggle together, grabbed three balls, and said something self-deprecating about my abilities… then I owned that moment, doing overthrows and whatnot. If I was someone watching me do that, I’d be annoyed. I’d think I was faking it, but the truth is that I lose all confidence in my abilities the moment someone is going to see them for the first time. When we first started the softball game, I was legitimately concerned that I wasn’t going to be good enough. Forget the fact that I played for a decade, including a semester at a JC. I had scholarship offers from D1 schools, but of course I’m going to suck at the church slow-pitch game. Anyways… now that I’m finished hating my self-deprecating idiocy… I’m back at Starbucks. I opted for the hot chocolate so as to sleep well tonight, and I’m getting ready to jump back in with about 1,500 words to go ’til I reach my goal. Let’s do this!

5:45 – headphones in. Gavin Degraw “I Don’t Wanna Be”

6:14 – I’m running out of steam. I think I’m gonna read the NaNo Week 1 pep talk. Maybe that’ll help.

Today’s Word Count: 3,236/4,000 Total Word Count: 8,078/9,000

6:25 – I’m not gonna lie. I feel like not writing anymore. If I write 400 more words right now, I’ll be past the word count schedule NaNo gives you. If I write 1,000 more words right now, I’ll be past my own goal for myself. But I’m tired. I’ve written like three chapters. My MC (main character) has been through a lot today. His best friend got some bad news, he took his last 3 final exams of senior year in high school, thought a burglar was breaking in but found out it was really his dad coming home drunk, destroyed a tennis racket out of anger just before putting a dent in his bedroom wall and crying, and went to the movies. Next step, he should be having a really difficult conversation with his mom, but I feel like it’s going to be emotionally draining to write this scene. He’s going to learn a lot without knowing he’s learning, and I need to write with subtlety and beauty that my mind doesn’t have right now. I’m also realizing that my outline is going to run out long before I hit 50,000 words.

6:30 – Gavin Degraw is whiny. Picking a new song and starting in for another round. AAAAAAHHHHHH! The Goo Goo Dolls “Iris”

HA! Today’s Word Count: 4,268/5,000 Total Word Count 9110/9000!

I WIN!

7:22 – “Iris” is possibly the best writing song ever. I’ve also noticed that the songs I love running to work for best for writing. Maybe I need to write to Gungor “Beautiful Things” That’s one of my favorite running songs.

Note: The NaNo website says that I’ll finish my 50,000 words for the month on November 27th if I continue on at this rate.

Also – two things I just noticed: I decided to write this manuscript in 3rd person present tense. I usually write in 3rd person past, and I keep catching myself switching between tenses. Present tense is really fun, though, and I think it’s making it easier for me to just write rather than over thinking the exposition. Also, I totally just deviated from my outline and had someone cut off the tip of a finger while making dinner. Awesome. The NaNo people advise adding ninjas when you run out of stuff. I think this qualifies as a ninja-type plot device 🙂

Ha!

Ha!

HA!

*Signing out now – I hope all of you who are participating in NaNo are hitting your word counts and enjoying this crazy month of literary abandon.

4 thoughts on “Live Blog… sort of

  1. Yay Katie!! I’m so proud of you! Gonna try and look at NAno (or whatever it’s called) today. Maybe I’ll start, we shall see. You’re doing great, friend!!

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

