NaNoWriMo 2011


nanowrimo

Image by evilnick via Flickr

For those of you who don’t know, November is National Novel Writing Month, affectionately known by insiders as NaNoWriMo or just Nano.

It’s pretty much the coolest thing since sliced bread. Writers, aspiring writers, and crazy college kids who hate sleep write entire novels in the month of November.

The goal: 50,000 words.

Yep. That’s an entire novel (depending on genre).

Last year, I wrote 7,000 words. It was my first nano, and I didn’t prepare much at all. I told my students about it, and several of them doubled my word count because they’re awesome – and they’re young and have more time than the rest of the people in this world.

This year, I’m prepared. I’ve outlined 10 chapters, created a character web, and even done an interview. Of course that doesn’t necessarily mean that I’ll be writing 50,000 words this year, but I’m aiming for at least 25,000. I’m actually writing a book that I care about and that I plan to eventually seek publication of.

“But, Katie – what about that other novel you’ve been working on for two years?”

Let’s be honest, guys, my current WIP (work in progress) is decent, and it’s the first manuscript I’ve ever entirely completed, but it’s also my first manuscript. Some of you have been asking about MOSS MINE for more than a year, and I appreciate it, and plan to keep plugging away at it forever, until it’s shiny and ready for querying… but true writers WRITE. So that’s what I’m going to do.

And isn’t NaNoWriMo the absolute koolest of the kool opportunities to WRITE?

I’m actually even going to participate in those crazy write-ins they do, I’m going to read the pep talks, and I’m going to try. I even considered doing the mid-night kick-off event thing, but, sadly, it’s a school night and I have to work the next morning. I will, however, be writing in on Wednesday the 2nd at IHOP and Friday the 4th ALL NIGHT… okay, maybe just until I hit my word count goal, but still.

Now, dear readers, I think you should participate too!

Yep!

You should click here and sign up for NaNoWriMo.

Do it!

You know you want to!

After you sign up, leave me a comment or send me an email with your secret Nano codename and we can be writing buddies! Or you can find me and we can be writing buddies! My secret codename is kathrynleighaz.

Yay!

20 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011

  1. Hey Katie. I have been feeling that “tug” for quite some time to write. Maybe this is something I should do? I have ONE story idea that came to me about 1.5 yrs. ago, but I have not working on it (other than part of the first chapter way back then). Send up a prayer for me if you don’t mind. I am going to pray about this through the day and see what God has to say about it 🙂 Thanks for sharing this! And, good luck to you! I can’t wait to read what you write! May God grant you energy, clarity, creativity and perseversance as you write, and may He give you more time to fit everything in! ((hugs))

  2. Hey, you’re in it too! Good luck to you then! I’ve just gone and added you as a writing buddy. Your synopsis sounds really interesting; I’d love to read how you’re going to treat that particular issue. 🙂

  3. Wordprocessor: I’ll totally say a quick prayer.

    Asia: You’re now my only Nano buddy with a legit pic! I tried to upload my pic, but it took up too much space or some such nonsense. 🙂 Unfortunately, I can’t read your synopsis because you’re all cool and biligual 🙂 I’m jealous.

  4. Pingback: Nanowrimo: The write thing... | Down The Rabbit Hole

  5. Hey Kathryn,

    I have no story ideas as of yet but I figured I would give this challenge a try. I have been putting my creativity on the back burner lately so now I need something to get me motiviated to start flushing out these thoughts and ideas floating around. My user name is MyBeloved1.

  6. I definitely just edited my author and novel infos for the new year. I’m not sure if I’ll have the same motivation as I did last year, as it was something completely new–but I’ve had these characters and ideas brewing around for two years now and the only reason I haven’t written it yet is I keep getting in the way of myself. O well. 😀 Last year I got around 28,000 words–hopefully I’ll make it this year. Good luck!

  7. Pingback: Get Descriptive with me & C. Dickens on @LitReactor « Writer's Cramp

  8. Pingback: La Revanche des Trois (Revenge of Three) Chapter 1.2 #nanowrimo #wip #amwriting wc 1935 | The Literary World of Sylvia Hubbard

  9. Pingback: La Revanche des Trois (The Revenge of Three) Chapter 2 #nanowrimo.org #WIP(thx @itsbmcknight 4yr help) wc3245 | The Literary World of Sylvia Hubbard

  10. Pingback: en deshabille

  11. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Day #1: ribbons, cloaks and unexplained drivel. Mostly grunge. Lots of grunge. « Lemon City III

  12. Pingback: La Revanche des Trois (The Revenge of Three) Chapter 2.2 #nanowrimo.org #WIP wc 3601 | The Literary World of Sylvia Hubbard

  13. Pingback: Hey all. « Three Sixty

  14. Pingback: La Revanche des Trois (The Revenge of Three) Chapter 3 #nanowrimo.org #WIP wc 5278 | The Literary World of Sylvia Hubbard

  15. Pingback: La Revanche des Trois (The Revenge of Three) Chapter 4 #nanowrimo.org #WIP wc 7940 | The Literary World of Sylvia Hubbard

  16. Pingback: La Revanche des Trois (The Revenge of Three) Chapter 4.2 #nanowrimo.org #WIP wc 7940 | The Literary World of Sylvia Hubbard

  17. Thanks a ton for stating your opinions. Being a writer, I am always in need of unique and different solutions to think about a topic. I actually uncover fantastic creativity in doing this. Many thanks
    My blog is [url=http://www.businesstraveltours.com]Travel Tours[/url].

  18. Pingback: Learning to get my writing in wherever I am and at whatever time I can | Sybir

  19. Pingback: Is Your Child an Aspiring Author? « WHAT KIDS NEED TO SUCCEED

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

