Look at Mr. Morrill… the Man Who Taught Me How to Write and Inspired me to Teach English


I am thoroughly convinced I had the best junior English teacher ever.

I continue to think that even after he responded to my claim that “The character demonstrates excellent persuasive speaking skills…” with “But you don’t.” (See how he graded in blue ink?)

I think he was the best Junior English teacher ever… even after he warned me that I could be in his class if I wanted to, but would be lucky to get a ‘C’. 🙂

Better yet – I think it because he did those things.

If I ever publish a book, it will only be because Mr. Morrill hurt my feelings on an almost-daily basis.

That’s what we teachers do. 🙂

Here’s what Mr. Morrill is doing nowadays.

I especially like that part twenty minutes in when he talks about educator crazy… because I unfortunately don’t know if I’m still crazy enough to believe. Or, better yet, I don’t know if my crazy outweighs my angry.

3 thoughts on “Look at Mr. Morrill… the Man Who Taught Me How to Write and Inspired me to Teach English

  1. In all honesty, and without flattery, I also think I had the best junior year teacher. (And the best sophomore year teacher–Mr. Gilsdorf was crazy.) I believe those teachers that push and shove and tell it like it is without sugarcoating everything are the best because they don’t fill kids’ heads with fantasies of good writing and success; instead, they tell their kids why they’re wrong and push them until they’re right. 🙂

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

