Random Brain dump of catch up


Hello!

I know it’s the weekend, but I’m writing a post.

Things I’ve been planning to tell you about, but haven’t:

1. I went to CA and laid on the beach. It was wonderful and beautiful and I even took pictures. I will post them for you to see. By-the-way, isn’t it wonderful to stand on the beach and let the tide wash your feet into a big hole? I’m pretty sure my fellow-travellers thought I was crazy because I stood with my feet in the tide-holes for like 15 minutes. By myself. Staring at the splendor. Overwhelmed by jubilance.

Waves lift us up where we belong!

Look at me trying to be artistic!

One of the beaches we were on was slightly abandoned, which meant WAY more interesting. I was inside a tiny cave when I took this one!

Look at that bird - perfectly ripe for the chasing! If only I hadn't been the sole childish one there who chased birds and REALLY had to fight my inner desire to jump off the pier that was clearly labeled with a "No diving or jumping" sign.

Yep - that's a dead lobster. I don't know why I can't refrain from taking pictures. I hope no one photographs me after I die.

And finally... the traditional vista of beatitude!

2. Last week was banned book week, and I finished reading The Outsiders. I started reading it awhile back (because I’m reading through Persnickety Snark’s list of the top 100 YA books of 2010) and forgot about it for awhile. I was going to write a review of it, but I don’t feel like it any more. You see, I get why it’s such a popular, well-respected YA book, but it traumatized me a bit. Of course I knew that nothing good could come of the teenage hoodlums fighting each other, but still, it made me really sad that of the five well-developed characters, two died really sad deaths (esp. Dally… I loved the comparison between him and a gallant man of the South), two were destined for difficult lives and early deaths, and one probably did okay. Sad. So sad.


3. I’m going to be away from the blog for about a week. I’m headed to North Carolina for my yearly trip to the tiny town of Burnsville, and I haven’t yet decided if I’ll schedule posts for that week. I really enjoyed the hiatus I took last year when I was there and didn’t provide you with any content. This year, I think I have a better handle on the difference between private and public info (although I do push the boundaries pretty regularly), so I may go ahead and write some things. I may also repost some content from last year. Regardless, I will not be responding to comments that week because I won’t have internet access at all. 🙂

I hope your weekend is going well and that you’re enjoying the splendor around you regardless of if it’s beach, mountain, desert, forest, or what-have-you splendor.

Much love,

Katie

4 thoughts on “Random Brain dump of catch up

  1. One time I brought home something dead from the beach when I was a very young lad.

    I hid it in a sand bucket and didn’t let my parents know about for a few days until after we got back from the trip. It stunk up the van for those few days.

    I was pretty awesome…

  2. I have fall break all next week, and wish N.C. was closer to TN… I need to see you! I actually have a lot to tell you, and am going through a rough time. =( I love you! I would call you around 4:30 your time, but I’ll be in Bible Study by then…. Hmmm, will have to make it another day.

    BTW I loved your beach pictures and I can’t wait to go to the beach soon, I really miss it!

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

