10 minutes… ready, go!


For the few of you who don’t know this yet, I have a very specific strategy for dealing with those days when I don’t have anything profound to post here on the blog.

I word vomit onto the page!

Or… in a more writerly manner of describing it, I freewrite.

Ready, go!

Like always, I’m writing from Starbucks. My favorite barrista isn’t here, which makes me sad, because I usually ask him to make me something magical, and he never disappoints, and he always makes something inexpensive and mysterious.

I had to order a Pumpkin Spice Latte in his absence, which isn’t all bad, but just not quite magical.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the unfortunate fact that I haven’t given you much access to those mysterious, wonderful things I see God doing in my life.

It isn’t that He hasn’t been doing mysterious and wonderful things.

I’m mostly still reveling in what He did with putting me at my wonderful Small Church. It was one of those times when I couldn’t view the situation as anything but divine orchestration.

Most of my friends are slowly leaving Big Church behind, and they’ve all claimed a lovely little church called Living Hope. I went to Living Hope before I was completely confident that God had me at Holy Cross, and it’s a pretty wonderful church too. They have free waffles after church every Sunday, which is a HUGE selling point, right?

My point in writing about Living Hope, though, is to say that it should be really difficult to see all of my friends re-establishing our group in a place that I’m not…

That was an awkward end to a sentence, eh?

I’ve been watching friend after friend decide to make Living Hope their home church, and without the way that God has so completely made me at home somewhere else, I’d probably follow them. Some of them, I’m sure, are at Living Hope because they genuinely love it there and made the choice for their relationships with God. Others, I think, are there because they aren’t ready to let go of the community we built a long time ago. If I were to go there, I honestly believe it would be in direct disobedience to God.

I don’t think I ever told you this, but BFF Shasta tried to tell me and a few other people about Holy Cross a long time before we were even considering merging with Big Church. She accidentally bumped into the Rev. and found out he was starting a church plant. She was sure (and I am too, now) that the Holy Spirit had brought her and the Rev. to the same place at the same time because He wanted us to partner in things.

When I met the Rev probably a year later, I didn’t realize it was the same guy Shasta had been talking about and the same church plant.

What if the Holy Spirit wanted me (and possibly others from our community) there, and we ignored Him? What if He’s such a good God that He pursued me in spite of how we ignored Him?

He’s a persistent God, is He not?

Holy Cross is now less than a month out from our official launch date, Life Groups are starting up on October 10th (I’ll unfortunately be out of town), and I’m headed to California next week with some of my new friends. I can’t believe how perfectly God worked it out for me so that I trust the Rev. (aka Pete) far sooner than I’m apt to trust anyone, I’m closer with Bekah and a few others at the church far faster than seems possible, and I’m growing in humility, joy and contentment with every passing day.

So I don’t exactly know how to describe what God’s doing in my life right now, because it’s all around me and complete, but I do know 1 thing…

He’s a good God, and He’s taking care of me.

My ten minutes were up a little bit ago, but I thought I’d write a thing or two more.

1. Teaching is pretty excellent right now. I have the constant gray cloud of I’ll-probably-lose-part-of-my-contract next year, but I’m in love with my classes and feel like I’m doing a good job. On Friday, some students asked me if I’d be interested in sponsoring FCA (fellowship of Christian Athletes) this year, and I said yes. I’ve sponsored one club before, and vowed never to do it again, but it has a little more meaning if it’s FCA.

2. I’m not going to run a full marathon. There’s no way I can fit 4 days of running plus one day of cross-training into my schedule every week. I’d have to give up all the other things I enjoy in life. I’m still going to run two half marathons and a 200-mile relay, which should be enough, but I’m feeling a little down on myself regardless.

3. I’ve been super-motivated about food lately, which means I’ve made a daily smoothie for the past 2 weeks, and I’ve only eaten out twice in the last 3 weeks. Awesome!

Anyways, I hope all is well with you, my dearest readers. Thank you for putting up with my word vomit. 🙂

Tootles.

2 thoughts on “10 minutes… ready, go!

  1. I like this strategy. I usually have sticky notes filled with writing ideas but sometimes, I hit a dry spell. Good way to get the thoughts flowing. Takes me back to my creative writing classes back in high school (a million years ago).

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

