Spirit-Taught


“When the Spirit illuminates the heart, then a part of the man sees which never saw before; a part of him knows which never knew before, and that with a kind of knowing which the most acute thinker cannot initiate. He knows now in a deep and authoritative way, and what he knows needs no reasoned proof. His experience of knowing is above reason, immediate, perfectly convincing and inwardly satisfying… Everywhere among conservatives we find persons who are Bible-taught but not Spirit-taught.”

A.W. Tozer God’s Pursuit of Man (76-77)

Usually, I give you quotes without commentary. This time, though, I want to throw in a mention of how completely this quote reflects what God is teaching me right now. If reading God’s Pursuit of Man taught me anything, it is that the Holy Spirit is a person I can know intimately.

He whispers guidance and comfort to me… if only I’m bold enough to listen and believe.

Knowing the Spirit is the most stirring and empowering grace I’ve ever experienced.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

