Accountability and the Blogger


So… something interesting I was reading about in an article by Collin Hansen in Tabletalk Magazine:

Who provides accountability to a blogger?

I have a few accountability partners in real life who I meet with semi-regularly. They ask me things like, “How have you been doing with preaching the gospel to yourself this week?” and “Have you been practicing Sabbath rest and recreation?”.

The reason I have accountability partners is that just “as iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another.”

And I can totally tell the difference in my relationship with God when I haven’t met with anyone for awhile.

But what about accountability in the blogosphere?

It hadn’t occurred to me how dangerously disconnected blogs can be from the body.

Interesting.

About a fourth of my readers here at STILL GROWING are people I know in real life, so they’ve been good enough to let me know when I post crap that poisons the body (yep… I totally do that sometimes), but what if I didn’t have those people holding me accountable?

What if they got tired of reading my stuff or felt like they couldn’t approach me with rebuke?

Who would hold me accountable for the things I write?

What do you think? Should Christian bloggers find accountability partners, or is there enough accountability built into the blogospere purely because of its public nature?

4 thoughts on “Accountability and the Blogger

  1. While I think the blogging world is far from a valid substitute for the accountability we receive from those that know us best, I must trust that God surrounds me with a functional online “body” that also works through its appropriate gifts.

    I cannot speak for everyone’s experience, but I have been blessed by the timely spiritual discernment of perfect strangers responding to my words; likewise, I exercise the same gifts online that I do in person.

    God’s continual ministry through me has been speaking truth into the spiritual lies that creep up on believers. Even with the limitations of blogging, I do my best to serve in the same way here. Not everybody is cozy with their “crap” being rebuked online (a nice place of hiding for some), but I usually only have to speak up once to know whether or not such accountability is welcomed. The majority have been grateful…particularly when they read my own blog and realize that I’m open to the same.

    Beyond just accountability, this online body has been used by God to exhort, encourage, and offer mercy and comfort. I’m pretty thankful for that. Good writers have a tendency to bury their thoughts in themselves until coherently expressed on paper; this particular dynamic of the blogging community provides a vulnerable outlet that is unique from other social networking or verbal conversation. I accept this as an additional avenue for my spiritual sharpening.

  2. Yes! I believe we should have accountability as bloggers. Being followers of Christ and having good intentions doesn’t always mean we will post things that are pleasing in His sight. Sometimes God’s truths get perverted and twisted on the way through our minds and what comes out is not of the Lord, but of OUR sinful nature. Having accountability is key in preventing this. If we get to a place where all we think we need is OUR OWN truth as we perceive it, we have reached a very dangerous place.

  3. “Our own sinful nature” is exactly what we are and it’s something that needs to come out. We can only be corrected when we have done something wrong. Blogging gives us a means to express ourselves right or wrong. The important issue is to have people who can say honestly. That was not right, maybe look at things from this view or yes I totally agree with this because the bible advocates for it. The issue with Christians is that we keep hiding our faults and continue to drown in them in the pursuit of appearing perfect. You have no idea how many people learn from other’s mistakes not perfection.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

