John, the Comic Book Character


I was listening to a Mark Driscoll sermon about John the Baptizer awhile back, and it has forever changed the way I think. Driscoll started out focusing on how crazy wilderness-like John was, and then about all of the offinsive truths he so bluntly and shamelessly insulted people with. Since then, John has looked a lot like a comic book character in my mind.

This is the best image I got of him.

Okay, so Spider Jerusalem usually has a bald head with a crazy spider on it, but I only read the first issue and this is what he starts out looking like. He’s from a comic series called Transmetropolitan. It’s been a while since I read it, but it’s about Spider Jerusalem who is a writer-type living like a hermit at the beginning of the series. And he has the look of a voice crying out in the wilderness. So when Driscoll started talking about the verses in Matthew that say John wore “a garment of camel’s hair and a leather belt around his waist; and his food was locusts and wild honey,” I totally pictured Spider Jerusalem. And now the Baptizer always looks like this to me. I mean, come on… the guy in that picture eats locusts. Without a doubt.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

