Yep… Definitely Self-Righteous


Yesterday, I wrote a post titled Take the Bullet. I wrote it a couple of weeks ago, and didn’t post it until now because I didn’t like it. I couldn’t put my finger on why, but it just didn’t feel right to post it.

Then, Harleyq2 (whose blog, THE UNEDITED VERSION OF BEING SINGLE AND CHRISTIAN, you can reach by clicking here) wrote the following comment. Which totally put me in my place because it shows the heart I should have.

But don’t.

Here’s the comment and my response to it.

 

Harleyq2

April 12, 2011 at 10:12 am

I believe that young believers are not always ready to “take a bullet.” I have to say I remember when I was so shy of being labeled a Christian or even too Christian to point I would panic if someone even asked my religious affiliation. They were looking for a strong leader and that was you at that time. Years later and understanding myself and God more, I still panic when anyone hints that I am a Christian. However, now, I feel unworthy to be identified with Christ because of my imperfections. Don’t be too hard on them, they are still learning and growing.

(Edit)

Reply

April 12, 2011 at 8:32 pm
I love that you said they’re still growing since that’s the title of my blog 🙂
I guess I have a bit of a rebel attitude that everyone doesn’t have. Whenever the world makes me feel bad for who I am (be that a Christian, tomboy, writer, teacher, etc…) I have a “BITE ME!” attitude that causes me to be WAY more extreme than I ought to.
I don’t know if that makes sense, but I totally agree with you that I should be patient and less judgmental. I’m way too self-righteous in this post (and in life).

I’m sorry! Harley is 100% right!

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

