Ungirly #? (I’ve Lost Count)


I hate the way I look. I know that if I looked like Rachel McAdams I’d still hate the way I look… because it has nothing to do with the way I look and everything to do with everything else.

I had a photo shoot this weekend!

So here’s the deal: being that I hate the way I look, I hate having my picture taken. Every time I hear the shutter click, all I can think about is how my hideousness is now being captured for all to see… and how horrible it would be if after all of us earthlings die, the aliens come across an album of pics with Ms. Katie James in all her glory… and that’s all they have as a gauge of the human race.  Also, I think about how ridiculous it is that I have to keep telling people to take pics with the camera above me because it’s the best angle for hiding both the double-chin and the pimples that I would have grown out of about 6 years ago if the world were fair.

I know.

I know I’m ridiculous.

I’m working on it.

That being our starting point, I had a photo shoot this weekend.

I don’t trust many people to photograph me, so it was a pretty big deal that I trusted Friend Shasta to take way more pics of me in the course of a few hours than I’ve probably allowed in the entire past year. There are maybe two other people who I don’t mind photographing me as much as I mind the whole rest of the world, so Shasta is among the select few and you should all applaud her for putting up with me. She did an amazing job and didn’t make me feel uncomfortable at all. She told me where to stand and when to smile. She made it fun – like I was just hanging out with my friend rather than letting her document my hideousness. We had a few adventures (climbing on the roof of a university building and all) and it was altogether lovely.

So here are the results. Your task? Select your favorite one and vote for it. The winning photo will become my main blog pic and I’ll probably put the second place one on the About page… although, I’ve already got one in mind for that page, so I may veto if you don’t vote right. 🙂

Vote! If you don’t, I’ll assume that you hate the pics, and I’ll fall into a deep despair.

Option #1

Option #2

Option #3

Option #4

Option #5

Option #6

4 thoughts on “Ungirly #? (I’ve Lost Count)

  1. I absolutely love each and every picture Katie! You look great, and I am loving the bangs and skinny jeans! xoxooxoxoxo BTW I am voting for Pic#5, but I am in LOVE with #6 too! Good job Shasta!

    • Thanks, Jordan. I wore the skinny jeans in rebellion against the comments my sis made on Thanksgiving, so I’m overjoyed that they didn’t ruin anything. 🙂 We need to talk. Why are we so bad at this?

  2. Katie, I totally get this post.After watching the Ragnar videos, I hate myself. I LOVE ALL OF THEM!!! I really love #6.

    • All the pictures are great. I like the naturalness and ease of #5. Your dad and I both think #1 would be great on a book cover. I’m not sure which one to put on my locker—maybe all of them!

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

