Evidence of the Delicate Flower


Nike Girl: So you’re looking for some shoes for running?

Katie: Yeah. I ran the P.F. Chang’s half last month and lost a couple of toenails because of my shoes.

Nike Girl: Okay. Well, we have these (insert ridiculous hard-core sounding name of shoe type) and these (insert less hard-core shoe name that sounds like a winged mystical creature). What’s your size?

Katie: I think I’m going with nines today. Eight-and-a-halves were what I was wearing when I lost the nails.

Nike Girl: Well, go ahead and sit down and I’ll bring you some to try on.

[Nike Girl brings 3 -4 pairs of shoes and Katie starts to try them on – occasionally jogging around the store in them to make sure they feel right. Katie sits down and takes off the last pair.]

Katie: What about those ones?

Nike Girl: The (insert really hard-core shoe name)?

Katie: Those teal and neon green ones.

Nike Girl: Those are for less serious runners.

Katie: What’s the difference?

Nike Girl: The ones you’ve been trying on are meant for people who run thirty miles a week. The (hard-core shoe name) is more casual.

Katie: Can I try them anyways?

Nike Girl: What race are you doing again.

[Nike Girl is trying not to roll her eyes as Katie tries on the more expensive and less-functional shoes.]

Katie: The Ragnar.

Nike Girl: You really want to make sure you have the right shoes for a race like that.

Katie: I know, right? I’ll look completely epic in these!

Nike Girl: Didn’t you say you lost two toenails at your last race?

[Katie doesn’t answer, but prances around the store for a bit in the teal/neon green (hard-core shoe name)]

Nike Girl: Why don’t you just try these ones on one more time for me? If you don’t like them, I’ll leave you alone.

Katie: Okay.

[She slides off the pretty, epic, light, attractive, non-functional awesome shoes and puts on the inexpensive normal white ones and immediately feels the wonderful padding and support. She frowns.]

Katie: I should probably get these, huh?

[Nike Girl shrugs].

Katie: Fine. [She sighs.] So much for looking awesome in my jeggings and teal/neon shoes… I guess I’ll just have to resign myself to unattractiveness for the race.

4 thoughts on “Evidence of the Delicate Flower

  1. Love this Katie!! I totally understand your want for the ‘cuter’ shoes! And it’s neat that you really did like them more, it is evidence of the delicate flower you have been nurturing! Haha!

    I went to the sporting goods store to buy some shoes for jump roping. I tried on a lot of different ones and wanted to get the best ones that bounced just right on my toes. But I really LIKED the tan, pink, and teal ones. I ended up getting the SOLID white ones that look like hospital shoes. =( But they ARE good for jumping! =D

  2. but why oh why can’t they add some color to them? they can still be functional and look awesome right? or maybe that’s an oxymoron… hmm.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

