Legit


I’ve been trying to steer STILL GROWING away from myself lately and towards content that’s less egocentric and more helpful to readers.  However, I’ve had one heck of a week so far, and I don’t have the capacity for much more than a description of the first week in a long while that I would say has been legitimately rough.  The thing I was looking forward to least this week was returning to work, but work has been the least stressful thing so far.

Two of my family members died this week – one on Saturday and the other today, which leaves my grandmother (Nanny) alone.  Although she has grandchildren close, she’s the last in a line of hard-working, wonderful people Honeycutts (that’s her maiden name).

A friend has me worried out of my mind for her spiritual, physical, and emotional safety.

I had a conversation on Monday that unsettled me about things to come in the near future and I haven’t even had time to think through what it all means.

One of my family members revealed great surprise when he found out that I’m a decent teacher who students like and rely on.  It was insulting to say the least, but I guess I shouldn’t be too hurt.  I far surpassed this man’s expectations by making it out of high school without getting pregnant.  How does a girl even respond to that?  “Well, Dad… I’m glad to have met all of your goals for my life.”

I’ve slept about 11 hours since Sunday.  I’ve gone to work, then meetings, then events, then family things, then home… then again.  I haven’t had any time to write or run, which would both give me some much needed brain decompression.

I’m growing just about the most fruitful pimple garden the world has ever seen (yeah it’s probably fueled by the stress that I shouldn’t be experiencing if I really trust God… but thinking about that only stresses me out more).

I think I’m going to have to get the dentist to fix whatever’s going on with my gums… or perhaps I’ll pull a Tom Hanks and just knock my tooth out with a rock.

And when I write it down like this, it seems a lot less impressive, and I feel like a whiner.  Still, anyone who wants to pray about some of this stuff should go for it.

Good night, and here’s to a fresh day.

5 thoughts on “Legit

  1. Katie, I pray for you today that God would grant you grace…to love your family, to do your job well, and for you to serve the King! I love ya daughter….

  2. Katie,
    dont get discouraged when others expect you to fail, that is their standard, not yours and definately not Gods. You are his Princess, He thinks about you all the time and is not surprised that you are excelling at the very thing He called you to do.

    I am sorry for your losses, i will be praying for you and for God to sustain you. 🙂

  3. Katie, I’m sorry to hear about your family. I’ll be praying for you, and you should definitely get some sleep. Sleep helps everything. 🙂

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

