“Meteors! Take Erasive Action!”


Leonid Meteor Strom, as seen over North Americ...

Image via Wikipedia

All I can think about this morning is the movie Zathura.  I saw it with a group of friends way back when it originally came out in theaters, and I only saw it that once.  Still, after staying up late last night to watch a meteor shower, I can’t seem to get Zathura out of my head.  The people I watched it with mostly hated it because of all the similiarities to Jumanjii.  While I concede that the plots are well… exactly the same, I have to say that Zathura was a much better movie. 

Come on – outer space always wins. 

Also, at one point in the movie, one of the kids tells the other, “You’re just jealous because I have a robot and you don’t.”  Ever since hearing that line, I’ve been looking for an appropriate moment to use it in real life.  I suppose I could just use it as a trump card that works in all situations. 

“Katie, would you mind taking out the trash?”

“You’re just jealous because I have a robot and you don’t.”

“Ms. James, is it alright if I turn this in late?”

“You’re just jealous because I have a robot and you don’t.”

The possibilities are endless, but I suppose it would significantly diminish the effect if people asked any questions.  It’s the kind of line you could use indiscriminately in a sitcom, but in real life never works.

Anyways, I stayed up late last night watching a meteor shower from Catalina State Park.  It was the second night in a row of 3 hours in sleep or less and I’m feeling a little pleasantly plethora right now.  I know that doesn’t mean anything, but I sat for more than 3 minutes just now trying to figure out exactly what I’m feeling, but my sleepy brain wanted alliteration at all costs – including a complete loss of meaning. 

So I leave you now with the sage-est advice anyone can offer you:  “Meteors!  Take erasive action!”

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

