Undressing the Dragon


Aslan

Image via Wikipedia

Good day, dear readers!  I obviously took a few days off of blogging, but I’m back now and I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas.  I certainly did.  Although my family was out of town, I joined the Hilst family along with Sara and Mike, and we had a lovely day of Inception, burgers, and an evening walk.  Since Christmas, I’ve had a 10-mile run that dominated me, a cookie-baking mishap (not exactly a mishap, but I definitely got frosting that didn’t harden so that when I stacked the cookies… well, you get it), and a couple of hours of billiards with people I hardly know.

Yesterday, I was reading intermittently while catching up on some housework, and I thought I’d share a brilliant moment out of The Voyage of the Dawn Treader with you.  Eustace is our main character of the moment, and has been mysteriously transformed into a dragon with no way to turn himself back.  Aslan shows up one night and leads Eustace to a secluded well.  There, He “tells” Eustace to undress (which is basically him peeling off his dragon skin – hopefully to become a boy again).  The problem is that every time Eustace peels the skin off, he finds that there’s just another layer waiting underneath.  Finally, Aslan tells Eustace that He’ll have to let him (Aslan) undress him.  This is rather intimidating because Aslan is a Lion with claws that could probably do some serious damage during the undressing, but Eustace obediently lays on his back and trusts Aslan’s work.

I love this part.  I love how beautifully it mirrors my struggles.  I’m so intent on doing the work myself that I rarely trust.  I try to peel off my own layers and make myself new, but it hardly works.  There’s always another layer to be dealt with and still another.  It’s only when I ask for help and trust that it will indeed come that I’m renewed at all.  Also, I frequently expect the “undressing” to be painless, but it rarely is.

“The very first tear he made was so deep that I thought it had gone right into my heart.  And when he began pulling the skin off, it hurt worse than anything I’ve ever felt.”

Changing hurts.  It hurts to sit still while being pruned, and it even hurts to admit that change is necessary.  Yet that’s what life’s about.  Justification.  Sanctification.  Without them, we’re stuck as treasure-hoarding dragons forever.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

