Have a Piece of My Cookie… Please


Please Eat off My Plate and Always Share My Cookie

The amazing Johnson family used to host weekly Tuesday night dinners for my church, and just thinking about these dinners raises all sorts of fluffy emotions inside of me.  Tuesday nights taught me more than I’m even aware of about God, grace, growth, love, laughs, joy, hospitality, and hugs.  At one of these dinners, I fell apart in tears because a freshman student from my class committed suicide and student teaching was giving me panic attacks.  At another, Dave and Jake teamed up to throw me in the pool.  At still others, we discussed evangelism and the sovereignty of God (Thanks, J.I. Packer).  We played poker, ate, watched basketball, cared, shared, and learned about God.

I’m bringing this up because just this week I got to briefly re-experience Tuesday night dinners.  The Johnsons again opened their home to me this week, and it was magnificent.  🙂

For awhile, we ate spaghetti and talked.  Then, my favorite part of the evening happened while we were all lingering at the table after the food.  Let me preface this by telling you that in my family,we rarely ate dinner together.  If we did, it was usually sitting on the couch in front of the TV.  Whatever we ate, we ate off of our own plates, and didn’t share anything or even sit close enough to each other to share if we’d wanted to – not that we ever wanted to.  An opposite sort of thing happened at the Johnsons when the cookies were placed on the table.  No one grabbed a whole one and shoved it in her mouth.  No one even put an entire cookie on his own plate or napkin.  Slowly but surely, we broke off little bits of the cookies and nibbled.  Maybe Kayla started a cookie… then Dave broke a piece off of its other side… then maybe I had a piece… then Britt… then Mike… until the cookie was gone.  It was a slow, wonderful process that made me feel included.  We weren’t individuals hurrying off to catch the last bit of Dateline.  We were together.

Another Little Bit About Cookies

“What’s your favorite Christmas cookie?” Lisa asked me.

I thought for a moment… “I’m not gonna lie.  I haven’t experienced enough Christmas cookies to even what my options for answering that are.”

😦

Why don’t I know?  I can’t think of a single type of Christmas cookie.

Mission: learn about Christmas cookies.

I need your help.  Tell me, good readers… What is your favorite kind of Christmas cookie?  And if you’re especially motivated, what is your favorite recipe for it?

4 thoughts on “Have a Piece of My Cookie… Please

  1. Oh Katie, I liked this post. I have many fond memories of Tuesday nights too before the Johnson’s left, and even the rest of Tuesday nights at Matt and Allison’s.

    Our family are big food sharers! And I am sorry you have missed out on a lot of Christmas cookie baking! My grandma used to make probably 12 different types of cookies at Christmas (dozens and dozens). They were all different. She has a recipe for an ice cream cookie (which doesn’t taste like it sounds) it’s more of a floury, pie crust taste cookie that has ice cream in the batter. Then there are ground almond cresent moon shaped cookies that she dipped in chocolate, and molasses cookies, and a lot others that I can’t remember. But my favorite one has to be a white cookie (don’t really know how to explain it, but kinda a cross between a shortbread and a sugar cookie, with a maraschino cherry on top, covered in white chocolate. She hasn’t made those in years, but I just might have to get the recipe while I’m down in Yuma.

    Happy Christmas Katie! I will be sure to let you share off my plate when I come visit! xoxo

  2. Christmas Snowballs (Mexican Wedding Cookies)
    1 cup butter
    1/2 cup powdered sugar
    1/2 teaspoon vanilla
    1 and 3/4 cups flour
    1/2 cup chopped nuts

    (you must follow directions closely)

    BEAT butter until creamy. Gradually add sugar, beating well. Continue beating until mixture is light and fluffy.

    ADD vanilla, flour and chopped nuts and mix well.

    SHAPE dough into small balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet.

    BAKE for 10-12 minutes at 325. Remove.

    ROLL in powdered sugar before cooled.

  3. Pingback: Little Things Matter « Still Growing

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

