Brain Dump #9


Okay!  I’m not gonna lie, I’m glad this week of blogging is OVER.  This brain dump is a nice, light entry at the end of a week full of sharing my hurts and idiocy with the intertubes for all to see.  I’m planning to follow up next week with some more romance/faith postsm but for now, I take my leave for the long weekend.  And I AM taking a long weekend, so don’t check in here at STILL GROWING on Monday… I’m certainly not going to.

This post at the Desiring God Blog hit home for me and made me realize the GAPING hole in the way I view the church and my relationship to it and to God.

Author of upcoming bestseller FREEDOM, Jonathan Frazen said something about ebooks that I agree with 100%

“Am I fetishizing ink and paper? Sure, and I’m fetishizing truth and integrity too…”

Facebook did something that really bothers me even though I don’t even have a profile anymore, so I thought I’d give you this link as a resource for protecting your privacy.  From what I can tell, FB introduced something called PLACES that allows you or your friends to tell the world where you geographically are.  Obviously that can be dangerous in a lot of way, so here’s the link again in case you want to change your settings.

Here’s a nice pic from NASA:

"Spiral galaxy NGC 4921 presently is estimated to be 320 million light years distant. This image, taken by the Hubble Space Telescope, is being used to identify key stellar distance markers known as Cepheid variable stars. The magnificent spiral NGC 4921 has been informally dubbed anemic because of its low rate of star formation and low surface brightness."

I still haven’t finished watching the conference DVDs I bought like two months ago from the Ligonier website, so I won’t be even looking at their $5 deals for the week.  I did watch one of the sermons R.C. Sproul did on family and another one given by a female speaker (if I was awesome I’d remember her name) about women in the family – a topic that’s on my mind all the time lately.

My favorite agent blogger Mary Kole over at Kidlit, wrote something really funny that I just have to quote here:

“…a fondness for donuts doesn’t flesh out a fat kid character (puns all intended)”

That’s why she’s my favorite 🙂

Over at Shelf Awareness, Sheryl Cotleur examines the violence in the ULTRA popular HUNGER GAMES series.  I have the first book in the series on my shelf, and this post makes me eager to read it (although I honestly don’t have the time right now) just to see how far violence goes in the YA genre.  There’s a little violence in my manuscript, but I’m trying to allude to it rather than show it because I don’t want to burn any publisher bridges (Scholastic is notorious for a strict line on age-appropriateness).  Anyone read HUNGER GAMES yet?  What did you think?

Tonight is the wedding of Friends Lawrence & Maria, and I’m JAZZED.  We did the rehearsal dinner last night, and I’ve got a new pair of shoes (yeah – the ones I posted a picture of earlier in the week) that need to be tested out with some dancing!

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

