Brain Dump #7


The highlight of my week was having my very first Harry Potter shot.  Here’s a picture.

Just in case you can’t tell, there are blue flames on top of those shot glasses!  I’ve tried to discover the recipe for you by checking the intertubes, but it hasn’t worked out.  Suffice it to say that the shot tasted very much like magic.  It was SUPER SWEET, plus a lemon, plus cinnamon, plus flames.  AMAZING.

I just read a wonderfully uplifting news story about a family that gets to keep their home because of Superman.  Way to save the day like always, Clark… that’s why he’s my favorite superhero.

This is way too funny not to include.

There was a kid in my 5th grade class who I thought was SO clever because when he died on Oregon Trail and it asked him what he wanted on his tombstone, he typed in “Pepperoni and cheese.”

🙂

Roommate Alix introduced me to a funny blog that you should check out.  The posts are fictional moments from the lives of the people who live inside catalogs, and it’s quite brilliant.  Click here.

Google tells us that there are over 129 million books out there.

Friend Lori & I are gearing up for our first 5K if anyone is interested in running with us, check it out here.

Comment of the week goes to my mommy who wrote the following in response to Monday’s post about Coach Leo:

“You left out some important things, like how the game was tied and your hit literally won the game. (Perhaps you were being modest?). Nor did you talk about how we all thought Leo would brag on you, but instead just said “You should do that everytime”. You didn’t talk about how Leo cried when you and Angela and Melissa had to move up to the next age level. And you didn’t talk about how Leo’s family was the first Mexican family that we knew very well and how we came to love Leo and his culture and his family and how much it hurt when he died. He really wasn’t so old really—-only 62 when he died. Maybe those are my memories, but I wanted you to tell those parts of the story, too. What an impact he had on so many people just because he was willing to throw his time and effort and often his own money into coaching a bunch of girls who were too young to appreciate him during the time he was coaching them. I’m just saying that there was more to the story than what you told.”

I wanted to put that comment in for a couple of reasons – the first of which being that Leo deserves a post that honors him and I feel like the comment does that.  Second, I wanted to point out that as my readers, you should always feel like this blog is yours.  If you ever think I messed up a story, feel free correct me.  If you ever want to write a post of your own, shoot me an email or give me a call (Heaven forbid we talk in real life:) ).  I reserve the right to refuse you or edit you a bit (after all, the blog address does have my name in the URL so I should probably be discerning about what gets posted here),  but those of you who’ve known me for years are welcome to try out blogging here at Still Growing.

I have to go back to work on Monday.  UG!

Here’s a funny video.

A cool pic from NASA!

NASA's description of what we're looking at: "On August 1, 2010, almost the entire Earth-facing side of the sun erupted in a tumult of activity. This image from the Solar Dynamics Observatory of the news-making solar event on August 1 shows the C3-class solar flare (white area on upper left), a solar tsunami (wave-like structure, upper right), multiple filaments of magnetism lifting off the stellar surface, large-scale shaking of the solar corona, radio bursts, a coronal mass ejection and more. "

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

