Brain Dump #6


Books/Reading

I just joined Shelfari because all of the literary people recommend it.  Click here to check it out.  It’s rather like a social network, which scares me a bit, but we’ll see how it goes.

Seeing as I just finished reading 1984 earlier in the week, I can’t not link to this HILARIOUS comic that makes me want to read Brave New World next, & since only 1 of you had voted the last time I checked the “What should Katie read next” poll, I may just do that.

There’s no way for us to win, is there?  I guess I should probably head for Huxley’s future then, & spend a few more hours on my new XBOX 360 today!

Publishing & Writing

There might just be some new rules around the corner for how to use emoticons, that you can read about here.

ALL of the literary people are embedding the “Jane Austen Fight Club” video on their blogs this week, so I will too.  I don’t think I liked it as much as everyone else did though.  It would probably help if I saw Fight Club, huh?

Here’s a cool picture from NASA:

"Perfectly circular, powerful Hurricane Celia spaned hundreds of miles over the Pacific Ocean in this image from June 24, 2010. Rough-textured clouds surround the storm’s distinct eye. Farther from the center of the storm, spiral arms appear thinner and smoother." Check out NASA's image of the day stuff to read more about this picture.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

