The Justice in Keeping Score


My post today was inspired by “Embracing the Truth” from R.C. Sproll, which you can read in its entirety here.

“Without objective standards of truth, we are left with feelings, impressions, and intuitions that can never be judged as either false or bad. The bottom line of such an approach is not merely ignorance and skepticism, but the ultimate dehumanization of persons. If everybody is right, then nobody is right. If every viewpoint is equally valuable, no viewpoint is valuable.”

This little chunk of text is a difficult one because the world doesn’t understand it.  The world would like us to validate every viewpoint, which we cannot do.  At some point, we have to take a stand.  I don’t know where that point is or how we identify it… in fact, those moments are so ridiculously confusing to me that I tend to always take the stand.  It makes things simpler for me, but it isn’t the best way to love people.  So, I’m working on it… all of my talk about adiaphora and being in the world but not of the world goes along with this problem of knowing when we take the stand for one viewpoint over another.  Sometimes it’s obvious, but most of the time it isn’t.

Last thing, this doesn’t really go with the other trains of thought that I had, but I wanted to include it.  Nowadays, we have kids playing in sports leagues that don’t keep score.  I know that this isn’t a perfect analogy, because with most things, it isn’t an us vs. them thing like it is in sports.  However, saying that everyone is right, leaves me with the same dissatisfied feeling I get in the pit of my stomach every time I watch kids playing an unscored soccer game.  There’s a sense of justice in me that says we’re hiding the truth.  One team is better than the other, just as some viewpoints are right while others are not.

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

