Brain Dump #1


Fridays seem like the best time for a brain dump each week, so here goes:

Check out Threadless PLEASE.  They have fantastic shirts, & if you buy something after clicking the link that says Threadless that I have now posted twice, I will get credits to spend on more shirts.  I just bought 3.

I just read in John Scalzi’s filmcritic.com post that there’s going to be a remake of THE LAST STARFIGHTER!  I’m not sure how I feel about this.  THE LAST STARFIGHTER was one of my absolute favorite movies that my dad recorded off of tv.  It is a geek’s wildest dream – young man becomes so epically good at gaming that an alien recruits him to do some real space battling for the good guys!  I feel an intense need to buy a copy of the original in case they ruin it with the remake.

The XBOX 360 bundle I want just dropped $50 in price!  SCORE.  I’m told by friend Lori that a more awesome version with more memory is the cause, but I’m jazzed nonetheless.  When I add the $13 dollars I saved over the last couple of times I went out for dinner (I drank water instead of lemonade or Manhattans), I only have $187 left to go.

I just found out about RinCon, which is Tucson’s very own gaming convention.  Their website is currently being worked on, but I contacted somebody important who said he’d give my name to the people who pick out volunteers.  It may be more fun just to attend, but you never know.  Volunteering may get me special privileges or something.  RinCon takes place this year on October 8 – 10 (although I’m hoping they also have a Thursday night opening that will be more laid back) and it will be at the Tucson Convention Center.  I’M GOING! & would like to get a few people to go with me and to share in this GEEKTACULAR event.  So let me know if you’re interested.  The three day pass is $25 & totally worth it if it’s anything like Phoenix ComiCon.  Last year, Wil Wheaton did RockBand in Tucson, which was by far my favorite event in Phoenix.  However, this year’s guest list isn’t available just yet.  So I’ll keep you posted.

I’m planning to finish reading FRANKENSTEIN for next week’s book review.  I’m also currently reading THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PAJAMAS.  The next book I’ll start is 1984 if you want to read along.

CLICK ON THIS LINK ABOUT TECHNOLOGY!  The NY Times reports about how technology is rewiring our brains!

For anyone who hasn’t noticed: I’m trying to figure out a blogging schedule that makes sense.  So far, I’m looking at NonFic narratives on Monday – this week will be about Friend Lori – Book or movie review Wednesday, & Brain Dump Friday.  I haven’t picked anything out for Tuesdays & Thursdays, so I’ll try to do some Life Updates + introspection and thoughts on life, God, politics, & whatever on the days that things aren’t scheduled.

The above schedule works well for me, but I’m going to put a poll in & let you tell me what you think.

I’m really working on actually writing what readers want to read, so GIVE ME FEEDBACK PLEASE!

*Finally, a little bit of wisdom from John Scalzi:

“…that’s life for you — the most important days of your existence don’t always announce themselves in obvious ways.”

He’s writing about his first date with his wife.  AWE.  Cute, huh?  However, it also fits in rather perfectly with my post inspired by the movie Stand by Me. Probably, all of you have read it, but I’ve given you the link just in case.

4 thoughts on “Brain Dump #1

  1. Katie, I think you should really read Ender’s Game. I know I’ve told you this before, but considering your love of Star Trek, gaming, good literature, character development, I think it is a MUST. Get back to me…. 😉 xoxo

    • I definitely will! It’s in my list of top ten. The problem is that I don’t own it, so it keeps getting pushed back. I’m going to add it to my wish list on Amazon, though – so I’ll probably get it soon.

  2. Katie, I LOVE 1984. I think it’s one of my favorites and so relevant. I can’t wait until you post about that one!!!!!! By the way, those shirts are really weird….. what’s the deal? 🙂

What are your thoughts on life, the universe, and everything?

